We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved the Lodge”
Reviewed January 17, 2006

If someone wants to experience Yellowstone National Park anytime of the year, one must be prepared to experience and appreciate all forms of wildlife, including mice that reside in the National Park. Because Yellowstone is pristine and the wildlife is preserved for all of us to enjoy, one should expect to see all wildlife. We should not be terrorized by tiny field mice that may find their way into the buildings. Perhaps the person who gave the Snow Lodge such poor ratings needs to schedule his or her next vacation at the Ritz Carlton on the beach somewhere instead of our pristine National Parks.
I have visited the Lodge many times and found it to be clean, well appointed and the staff courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Buffalo_WyomingBejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    602
    297
    105
    51
See reviews for
502
626
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2005

It was definitely an experience staying in the cabins next to the Old Faithful Lodge. From the outside I was very apprehensive - they look like a large garden shed! However, once inside I was pleasantly surprised. There was enough room for a double bed, 2 bedside cabinets, a desk and chair and a vanity sink. The bathroom was small, but there was plenty of hot water and the shower was powerful enough. There was a considerable ground frost in the morning but the in-room heater was fine - except the bathroom remained cold! One bit of advice - make sure you take a torch with you. Its pitch black at night and there's lots of things to trip you up if you're not careful! We ate at the Old Faithful Lodge Cafeteria. The food was fine and the dining room fantastic. We sat out alone on the veranda with hot drinks in the dark listening to the gysers and the wildlife - fabulous experience!

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2005

We stayed here three nights in June. Easy check-in, good room cleaning, and an unbeatable location.

I'd highly recommend the cabins. The are nice and quiet and we saw buffalo less then 100 feet from our cabin.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank massiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2005

I thought this place was great, mostly for location and convenience. Renovated somewhat recently so everything is new and clean. The staff was friendly, and the room was very nice (no TV, but we knew that!). You are definitely paying for the location, but it is probably worth it. We went in off season so maybe it is much cheaper. The food here (and everywhere in the park) is expensive and generally not worth eating!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarissaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2005

I really struggled with what rating to give the Snow Lodge. The building is lovely to look at, very clean, and beds are very comfy. There are lots of cushy couches to snuggle into, a great fireplace in the lobby, and I found the restaurant food very good. My only problem, and it was a BIG one, is that my room was amazingly noisy. Whoever designed the HVAC system should be, well, blacklisted. I was told by the front desk that most of the rooms are noisy, and that it's not always the same rooms that are noisy!! A staff member told me that many travelers wrap towels around the ceiling vent (neither the heat nor the air were turned on) to dampen the noise, so I did the same and it definitely helped. It's a shame, because it's really a beautiful facility.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jills1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

I had read some average reviews of the Snow Lodge on Trip Advisor, and I was concerned before our trip. However, our stay at the Snow Lodge was excellent. The rooms are spacious,clean, & quiet, and the showers always had plently of hot water. The beds are comfortable and warm, and the closet space is more than enough. We stayed on the third (top) floor, which probably helped reduce any noise from foot traffic that might happen if you stayed on the first floor for example. The staff (from the front desk to maid service) was very friendly and helpful. We asked for extra coffee in our room, and the maid left us six extra packets, which was above what we expected. If you don't want to mess with the free coffee in your room, then there's free French roasted coffee in front of the main restaurant in the mornings. The best thing about the Snow Lodge is the proximity to Old Faithful, which is about 100 yards away. The food at the Geyser Grill was just perfect for us - nothing fancy - just affordable and tasty food for people on the go. We had one dinner at the main restaurant, and the atmosphere was very relaxed, yet elegant. I had a lamb shank that had been slow-roasted for twelve hours and the meat fell off the bone. Delicious! We will definitely stay at the Snow Lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TexasHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2005

Perfectly acceptable lodging in Old Faithful area. Somewhat removed from the bustle around the Inn but these cabins were clean and quiet. Yes you are not surrounded and isolated by a forest of trees. And I for one prefer gravel over mud. Easy walk to general store and maybe 5-10 minute walk to Inn and Old Faithful.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ColoradoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,102 reviews
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
706 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
762 reviews
19.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing