We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay while visiting Old Faithful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 5, 2014

It is not the Old Faithfull Inn where you maybe able to see Old Faithful geyser from your room window, but it is not very far and less than few minutes walk to Old Faithful. It is a nice wooden structure across the street from the visitor center. The rooms are adequate but not luxurious. My room was clean quite well appointed, and quite. No TV as in all of Yellowstone hotels.

The restaurant is very good for all meals, but the breakfast buffet is meager. You can order from the menu, but during the high season the waiting time can be long. However there is no need for reservation for dinner as it is required at nearby Old Faithful Inn,

There is Wi-Fi, but it is not free, it cost around $12 a day, or $24 for 3 days. Verizon cell-phone signal is spotty, and varies by location and daytime in the same building.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can park close to the hotel if you drove to Yellowstone.
I stayed in Old Faithful Snow Lodge as a part of my booking for Total Yellowstone Package organized by The National Park Foundation which I highly recommend. But if I came back on my own, I would probably stay again here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tzraik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the Western Cabins from 5/10 - 5/17. The cabins were great. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. The only trouble was the toilet, which was consistently problematic. You can park your vehicle right outside the cabin, which makes for easy loading when you leave for the day. We are from Houston, so the weather seemed cold, but we got used to the cold and altitude after a couple of days. Being from the south, it seemed like the north end of the park would be colder than the south. Not here! The north part of the park had the most animals and was the warmest. We joked that we had a daily commute to the north part of the park. Also, the park staff were often on their first day. We dealt with a lot of inexperienced personnel. The worst was our last morning eating breakfast at the Snow Lodge. Our breakfast was not served for 50 minutes after ordering. A highlight of the trip was horseback riding with Pigs Fly Adventure company in a small town near the north entrance of the park. We saw lots of wildlife, more wild deer in a herd than any of our previous wildlife sightings. If I was to do this trip again, I would come in September rather than May. It is nice to not have the crowds, but the personnel made several shopping and dining experiences way more difficult than necessary. Overall, we enjoyed seeing Yellowstone and enjoyed that we did not have to wait in lines. Just would have been nice to have more hiking trails available.

Room Tip: We did not hear our neighbors like others experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fodoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Old Faithful Snow Lodge hotel is a spacious, authentic, eco friendly hotel offering excellent rooms with large beds, good restaurant and wood log cabin decor. Good service, wifi and situated within 5 minutes walk to Old Faithfull Geyser and other interesting geysers nearby, great viewed at dusk.

We found the Old Faithful Hotel too large, overcrowded in the day time with day trip visitors - so glad we didn't stay there.

Just a note - no tv or air conditioning because of protecting the environment (a fan was available and the windows opened with protective insect mesh which was perfectly satisfactory) - but that didn't worry us as we were there to be amongst nature and wildlife anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was celebrating my birthday, so when I had originally called for reservations, the person suggested staying at the Snow Lodge. The decorations in the room were cute and rustic. There was a cute bear soap in the bathroom. But for me, the location was the best! It was right next door to the Visitor Center so we had cell service! Yay!

I also like the location because it was so close to the geysers! We woke up early the next day and walked all the boardwalk area. We were so lucky to see Castle Geyser go off. It was spectacular!

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a fan in the room also, but the temp was fine for us. No television in the room and no wifi. No need for them since we were out and about most of the day. Photos of the geysers are nothing...when you are standing next to Old Faithful and it goes off, it's surreal. And if you have time, stop by and get huckleberry ice cream at the Old Faithful Inn. Yummy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hellokittyluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent a week here and used it as a base to explore Yellowstone along with a day trip to the Tetons. The location couldn't be better (5 stars!). The hotel has a nice and attractive lobby and public areas, but doesn't really give off a "lodge" vibe - it seems a bit spare for that. The disappointment is in the rooms themselves. I think the generic rooms at any Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn exude more warmth. They are pretty basic - no pictures on the wall (remember the "lodge" theme?), plastic step in shower/tub instead of tile - that sort of thing. Since it was built recently, why not invest just a bit more quality into the rooms themselves instead of taking the cheaper route? Also, as others have noted, there is little sound insulation up, down and in between - additional evidence of chapter construction. I'm not terribly disturbed by things like that, however - I was enjoying the park too much to make it a big concern. We used earplugs when sleeping and that was a fine solution. I will say that the rooms and public areas were spotless the whole time we were there.

I take my hats off the staff, however. A minor room issue arose towards the end of our stay that we brought to the attention of staff and management. They took every step to see that it was resolved to our satisfaction. We saw that they are genuinely committed to making sure their guests enjoy their stay.

Bottom line - we would stay here again. We didn't go to Yellowstone to lollygag our time away in our room. It was was fine place to stay and a great base to work from.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent four nights at the Snow Lodge during our stay at Yellowstone Park. The rooms are very well furnished, clean, nice lighting and real mugs/glasses, etc. But they are also small, stuffy with no air conditioning, and very noisy. We were kept awake by the sounds of all of the neighbors taking showers, slamming doors, coming and going at all hours, and our open window (needed to get fresh air) let in the sounds of buses and traffic at all hours, so our sleep quality was poor. The lodge is interesting and the grill attached to the same building is a good value for average quality lunches though, so that helped, and it is right next to Old Faithful and the Visitor Center. But for the ERY high price, if we were to do it again, I would not choose this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, overlooking the parking lot, even though we made our reservations one fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daune S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed in several different national park lodges in several different parks and the Snow Lodge was pretty much typical. The room was relatively large, very clean and quiet. Everything worked. The Lodge is about a 5 min walk from the Old Faithful Geyser and the trail head for the other thermal features in the area. It was also only a short walk to the general store, restaurants, and the gas station. Most of the parking was across the street from the Lodge in a very large lot but this wasn't much of a problem except in the middle of the afternoon when there was a lot of traffic in the area. The Old Faithful Visitor Center was also just across the street and this is a must see since you can access the park rangers and get a lot of helpful information about the park and general and various hikes in specific. We would definitely stay at the Snow Lodge if we visit the area again. The only less than satisfactory experience at the Snow Lodge was a fast food dinner we had at the Geyser Grille in the Lodge. The food wasn't very good. We will give them the benefit of the doubt that they were having a bad day but we didn't consider eating there a second time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,085 reviews
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
755 reviews
22.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
809 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,010 reviews
19.4 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $535 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing