We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Al's Westward Ho Motel(West Yellowstone)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$269
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$573
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Desert Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$245
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Lodge(West Yellowstone)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Madison Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$331
$257
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hadley's Motel(West Yellowstone)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$260
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveler's Lodge(West Yellowstone)
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,519)
Filter reviews
1,519 results
Traveler rating
397
633
319
116
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
633
319
116
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold faithful snow lodgeobsidian restaurantgeyser grillvisitor centerwinter wonderlandshort walkdining roomwestern cabingeyser basinparking lotfast foodmini fridgemodern hotelgift shopgeneral storethermal featuressecond floor
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 1,519 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is hard to beat this hotel if you want to stay within walking distance to the Geyser and trails in the area, want a decently modern room and can not find a room in the Old Faithful Hotel itself. The furniture is pretty modern and new, but with no wifi or TV, charging more than $200 a night is really excessive. The view from our ground-floor room was just unpleasant - with engineering equipment for doing work just outside our room. The hotel itself looked pretty new and decent, but I wish I had gotten better value out of our money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snorkelingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

First time in Old Faithful Western cabins. Very comfortable. Have been visiting Yellowstone many times since 1940s and these cabins are a definite upgrade with coffee makers, closets, larger, improved bathroom area, and more spacious. Nice sitting area near large windows. Easy walking to general store, education center and Old Faithful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyBeloit_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights during a months driving tour of 4 States and out of the 15 hotels we stayed in it was the most disappointing !
It looks good but our room was on 2nd floor 209 @ was so noisy we asked to be moved to 3rd floor after the first night . They moved us to room 346 that had a terrible humming vibration. We thought it was the air vent but after housekeeping stuffed towels around it to muffle the noise, it was still there' turned out we were next to the hotel generator!
So we were moved to room 329 which turned out to be above the loading bay so at 6am it was bedlam.
The restaurant meal was overpriced and the worst meal we ate all of the trip . To be fair, the manager gave us z voucher to eat at the Old Faithful Lodge which was quite good.
I feel that guests are a captive audience and that is why they can charge more for food and lodging. My advice is to book outside the park and drive in. It's not too far and then at least you have more choice!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walking4Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Yellowstone National Park covers a large area with numerous attractions. The advantage of staying in the park is you avoid lengthy drives to start your sightseeing plus get the enjoyment in the morning and evenings with no crowds of daytrippers. There is plenty of accommodation style to choose from but you need to get in as soon as bookings open to be sure of your first choice. We were in an Old Faithful Snow Lodge Western cabin for 3 nights. It was very comfortable and had plenty of space. Our friends were in a nearby frontier cabin, the extra $60 per night we paid was probably not worth it. Parking is at your door, which is not the case at hotel. There is no TV, refrigerator or internet (nor any cell phone reception at most times) but that is a good reason to escape here. Can pay to use internet but in lobby only. From the cabins it is only a very short walk to the hotel and its restaurant, to Old Faithful and the general store. The bed was comfortable and we slept well outside of plumbing noise. The one downside is very noisy bathroom plumbing. Cabins are in groups of 4, so if you have very early risers or clowns that like to shower after midnight, noise from other bathrooms is a BIG problem. We also found that if more than 2 units were showering at the same time, water pressure problems occurred and hot water was used up quickly giving the 3rd person coming in a brisk wake up wash with insufficient hot water. Yes, a bit basic, but roomy, warm and comfortable for entire stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Unfortunately, my review will be completely skewed by the fact that we were NOT warned of the Norovirus outbreak in progress at the park. This egregious irresponsibility falls to both the National Park Service and Xanterra - the company that runs lodging and concessions. While the room and location were very good (though be warned no wifi if you expect that), our violent illness 24 hours later completely destroyed my faith in the concern for public health (not to mention the rest of our vacation). We stayed one night - june 18th and ate two meals at lodges. Dinner at the Old Faithful lodge bar/restaurant and breakfast at the Snow Lodge Grill. Only later at a pharmacist in Jackson did we hear that there were hundreds ill in the park. The first incidents occurred on June 7th, yet we were not informed of that fact upon arrival. Thinking they had the extremely contagious virus in check (?), incoming visitors, hotel guests, and diners were not told about the recent outbreak. I am sorry to review this hotel so poorly, but my health and safety are far more important than nice amenities. My advice to your family is to call the medical clinics in the park before you go and make sure there are no current problems and be extremely wary.

Room Tip: Snow Lodge is adjacent to the historic Old Faithful Inn. So you can stay here and easily enjoy the geyser and old lodge.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Phunktified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews