We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dude/Round Up Motel(West Yellowstone)
$179
$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$160
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$379
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Desert Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$185
$135
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grant Village Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveler rating
397
631
318
116
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
631
318
116
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold faithful snow lodgeobsidian restaurantgeyser grillvisitor centerwinter wonderlandshort walkdining roomwestern cabingeyser basinparking lotfast foodmini fridgemodern hotelgift shopgeneral storethermal featuressecond floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
883 - 888 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you are looking for a good base to tour the geyser basin around Old Faithful look no further. It's just a short walk from the Old Faithful Snow Lodge to the Old Faithful viewing area, from where you can see the regular predictable eruptions. All the local hotels and the visitor centre (center if you are from the US) give times within +/-10 mins, so you can easily arrange to fit in several eruptions every day you are there! The light changes at different times of day, so don't just tick it off your list once! Above all I'd recommend that you get yourselves on a ranger led tour of the Upper Geyser Basin (about 9am I think). It starts at the visitor centre and was truly an awesome experience with hot water being thrown to left and right. Amazing colours in the surrounding rivulets, streams and pools; with steam and water bubbling out of hundreds of geysers, fissures and small vents. The guide will show the best bits and answer all your questions and its FREE! Do have an outline plan before you g,o so you get to the best bits and face it, you'll never have time to do it all unless you live there. The Yellowstone Treasures book by Janet Chapple is the bible we used. Ah getting back to the hotel it's great and has all you'll need. It is in an amazing and protected place, so don't expect cinemas and fast food nearby. For better value meals though, we crossed the car park to the cafeteria in the Lodge, you can see OF from there too.

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as possible. We booked 9 months ahead and met others touring who couldn't get in. Very comfortable rooms, well appointed and quiet, don't think views were available, but it's all about where it is.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hexham_hero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have gone to the Old Faithful Snow Lodge for five winters in a row. The rooms are comfortable and clean. A keurig is in each room. What a great place to enjoy nature without having to camp out. A perfect place to start your day trips in the park.

Room Tip: Call very early. There are some king beds available but on a very limited basis.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reb3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I took a trip with friends to do crosscountry skiing in Yellowstone. This hotel is operated by Xanterra, which outsourced the operation from the NPS.

Takeaways:

Rooms: Comparable to a Courtyard by Marriott. Clean, comfortable.

Service: EXCELLENT! People at this property REALLY want to be there for the location. It's the hospitality industry on steroids. The ski shop was particularly helpful in advising up on which trails to use; and a member of our group took a half day crosscountry lesson ($40) and was impressed.

Food and Bev: I ate at the buffet for breakfast and dinner several times and also had breakfast and a dinner made to order. Food pricing was comparable to a city hotel anywhere...think $10-$15 for breakfast. I had the eggs benedict with salmon. Alcohol prices were mixed...a shot of Maker's Mark was $5.00, comparable to what you'd pay in a bar...but a longneck (microbrew) was also $5.00 and a glass of really mediocre wine was $7.00~ REALLY?!?!?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HH_Gwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

In the winter, a guest travelling to Old Faithful has the choice of staying in the cabins or in the the Snow Lodge. I have stayed in both and enjoyed both. The Snow Lodge is newer, lovely, has spacious common areas, and costs considerably more than the cabins.

The cabins are older, well-kept, and just "feel" like Yellowstone. The two bed cabin in the fourplex has considerably more floor space than the duplex. If you are travelling with kids or extra baggage or equipment, then you would want to stay in the fourplex.

None of these cabins are soundproof. You will hear the doors being opened or closed, the conversations next door, as well as showers, sinks, and toilets in the next room.

The best part about staying "out" in the cabins, (50-60 yards away?) is the walk back and forth through the snow to get to the Snow Lodge, to the Obsidian Dining Room, to the gift shop, and to the Geyser Grill. Beautiful! A hike that isn't a hike. Just a brief walk in the splendor that is Yellowstone in the winter. btw, you really do need shoes or boots that are good in the snow. I have seen people slip and fall every time I visit the park in January.

To enter the park you must take the snowcoach tour or the "bomb" express shuttle. The tour is more comfortable, is narrated, is less loud, takes longer and costs more than the bomb. The bomb is much quicker, and although they will stop for wildlife it is not a tour.

I have always booked the snowcoach or bomb with Xanterra when I make my lodging reservations. While they do have an efficient online reservation system, I always call to make my reservations. They are SO helpful and they willingly "do the math" to help you plan an itinerary that works for your finances.

Upon arriving at Old Faithful you are dropped off right outside the Snow Lodge, your baggage is left there, and you go inside to register. If you are staying in the cabins there are little sleds for you to place your baggage on and pull out to the cabin. There is also a bellman who will assist you. Be sure to bring the sled back for the next guest who needs it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kmesaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for a week in January and by the time our vacation was over we decided we would never come back to Yellowstone in the summer again. What a spectacular and amazing place in winter!!!! The Snow Lodge is beautiful and all the staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet (even with a full lodge) and the bed was super comfy. We loved the fireplaces in the bar and lobby! We entered Yellowstone through the South entrance at Flagg Ranch and getting to Flagg from Jackson on the shuttle could not have been easier. The bright yellow snowcoaches were waiting to take us on a funfilled ride back to the lodge where we arrived in time for dinner. While we were at Old Faithful we did a full day tour of the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, a snowshoe tour and a night Steam and Stars tour where we went out to the geysers and did some great star gazing! Xanterra does a great job with everything. We lucked on with the temps (sunny and mid-20's during the day) but would have liked to have had at least one "snow day". Old Faithful during the winter is a spectacular place. One day there were only 2 of us watching the Old Faithful erruption. Only 2 people! !! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripsofalifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews