We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dude/Round Up Motel(West Yellowstone)
$179
$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$160
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$379
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Desert Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$185
$135
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grant Village Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveler rating
397
631
318
116
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
631
318
116
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold faithful snow lodgeobsidian restaurantgeyser grillvisitor centerwinter wonderlandshort walkdining roomwestern cabingeyser basinparking lotfast foodmini fridgemodern hotelgift shopgeneral storethermal featuressecond floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
899 - 904 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The room was clean, but so small.
For this price we were expecting higher quality.
You pay only for the (excellent) location that's it.
Notice there is no dedicated parking for guest. After you unloaded, you'll have to park somewhere in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A brief explanation: whereas 3.6 million travelers visit Yellowstone in the summer, 100,000 come in the Winter. Yellowstone is not an easy place to get to during the snow season. You cannot drive. You have to either snowmobile in or take a snow coach, both of which require reservations well in advance (we did the latter, and greatly enjoyed it). This hotel is the only option in the Winter near Old Faithful, and as others have noted it is expensive. The hotel staff is of mixed caliber, the rooms are very basic and the the restaurant is meh. Having said all that, I would return to this hotel in a New York minute. Unparalleled location. Snow shoeing and cross country skiing in a pristine place of unparalleled beauty. Wonderful lobby area with comfy seating and lots of board games. No screens (no TV, expensive Internet, to me this is a benefit). Tremendous views of the geysers in snow. 5 minute walk to Old Faithful. Surprisingly good gift shop. No crowds. Go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The cabins at the Snow Lodge are past their best, although OK. Staying at Old Faithful is a bit special, but you get the equivalent of a fairly basic hotel room for the price of an upmarket one. We were recommended to eat in the Old Faithful Snow Lodge and we found the restaurant, the bar and the food to be very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PORTSETONMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

If this hotel was on I40, it would be half the price. But the location is so perfect that it's obvious why it's kind of expensive. The Xanterra staff is very helpful and quick. The only real problem we had was that the entire hotel was very very cold. The heating system in the rooms is just not good enough to get the room warm. The maintenance person brought us a space heater - that helped, but bring warm pajamas!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you want Old Faithful on your doorstep, then you have to stay at the lodges. The cost is way too much in my view. If I am paying this much for accomodation, I think i deserve a level of service a few steps above my local McDonalds. the meal in the lodge restaurant was way below par, the server obviously did not want to be there, and made that very clear to us by the manner we were served. The rooms ar ok, but not worth over 200 dollars per night. Stay in West Yellowstone instead (see my next reviews....).

Room Tip: You are paying through the nose for the location, but you have to ask yourself "is it worth it?". In my view, it is NOT.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews