We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing lighting in the morning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lower Yellowstone River Falls

Lower Yellowstone River Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,500.00*
and up
Yellowstone Lower Loop Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular waterfall located in Canyon Country.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing lighting in the morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I painted the falls from a postcard I found when I was 12 years old. Ever since then, I had wanted to see the falls in person. It took me 15 years, but I saw them. I highly suggest walking back the Ribbon Lake trail from Artist Point at least a half mile. You get great views of the canyon that is not from a lookout area (like it is on on the north rim). We went in the early spring before the crowds roll in.

BREATHTAKING!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank angelatravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    146
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Take Uncle Tom's trail and the brink traily and see this beauty! It is breathtaking! The view of lower falls with the canyon are wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dee v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Steep Trail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent our first day at Yellowstone in and around Canyon Village. My family decided to go down the trail at Lower Falls. Going down wasn't too bad, but going back up was a bit more difficult. There were benches or places to sit throughout the trail to take a break if needed. All our children (ages 3-9) had no trouble with the trail. The view at the bottom was well worth the walk. We could see the water pouring over the top of the waterfall, and there was still ice on the sides of the cliff. This was a great spot to see, but I wouldn't recommend the trail to my parents or anyone with health issues. There were still good views to see, even if you did not go down the trail.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Put it on your agenda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Worth the time to have a look. Different to the rest of the park but a must-do. Try to go in the middle of the day as the low sun can be difficult for photos.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamLumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinteche, Malawi
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great view!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

One of my favorite places in the park!!! There are several view points along the south rim, and you can get some great photos here!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank whereswhitlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Yellowstone River Falls also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lower Yellowstone River Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing