We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Old Faithful

Old Faithful
Book In Advance
More Info
$265.00*
and up
Old Faithful Geyser Basin Hike
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular geyser located in the Geyser Country region of Yellowstone National Park.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The day we went, there was a bit of wind, and there were not enough places to sit comfortably to watch it when it blew. Very disappointing. Old Faithful needed a strong dose of Viagra the day we were there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,081
    886
    303
    54
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Plan the timing of your visit wisely.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As wonderful as this national park is most of the year, there are certain times one may wish to avoid being there. The second week in August usually coincides with the end of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally in S. Dakota. The park is full of extremely loud Harleys which scare away the wildlife and drown out the sounds of nature. One can barely hear the geysers or waterfals over the din. The bikers are everywher in the area and are generaly rude, drunk, obscene and confrontational. I would avoid Yellowstone and Mt. Rushmore during that week. Our trip was ruined last year due to these low lifes. Even when we hiked miles into the back country we could still hear those excessivly loud pipes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rider/Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“See it!!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

When it erupts, you'll remember it for a lifetime. An amazing example of how nature has its own rhythm. Geysers continue to erupt just like life goes on. It's great to know something "inanimate" is so dependable. Also, make sure to walk around to the other geysers nearby. They're each unique in their own way, from size to color of the water to how they erupt. One of the most remarkable places on earth. Appreciate it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Freed0mt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a Sight!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had just arrived as the last 'water show' had ended, so we ended up waiting quite a while. My husband and I were with our 18 & a 21 yo, so we didn't have to worry about children getting tired and irrritable, as there were plenty of them. Just a long time (about 90 mins) for young children to sit still, as people do not want to leave their seats once seated, they will be snagged.

Although predictable, this geyser really shows her beauty with she explodes. What a sight. Yes, you will see a few spouts from other geysers in the park, but nothing like this one. Make a stop and see this one. A truly spectacular show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tennisi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Its Old Faithful.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Go see then eat at the Old Faithful Inn and then go see again. There are other geysers and pools to view in the same area with nice board walks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CenturyCustomHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Faithful also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Old Faithful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing