We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always faithful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Faithful

Old Faithful
Book In Advance
More Info
$265.00*
and up
Old Faithful Geyser Basin Hike
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular geyser located in the Geyser Country region of Yellowstone National Park.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always faithful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having been to Yellowstone 3 times we always go by Old Faithful. Never disappointed. Just awesome!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,992
    844
    289
    53
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stopped to see on of the most famous attractions in Yellowstone. would recommend getting there 30 minutes before the estimated eruption time to get a front row seat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rich w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Impressive, but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was a bit underwhelmed to be honest, Old Faithful has a legend of its own and perhaps the legend is bigger than the actual now.

Still worth a visit though.

Be aware that even though you have sat for 30-40 minutes in the front row patiently waiting for the geyser to erupt, some ignorant visitors will arrive at the last minute and proceed to sit on the floor right in front of you.

Plenty of seating and standing around to accommodate this regular natural show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
332 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

First timers or return viewers all agree this is beyond cool. The ground shakes beneath you and tons of pressurized water explodes from the earth to put on a natural fireworks display. The beauty of Old faithful is its always on time to a schedule. Here you can find those wild animals roaming over to it in between shows to get a little heat from it as well. Quite the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Must-See When Visiting Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a must when visiting Yellowstone. I would recommend getting there around 30-40 mins earlier than the time they guesstimate for the next eruption so you can get good seats or standing space. I was visiting Yellowstone with my friend and we arrived early, walked straight up to front and center and staked out a spot for us so we could get all the photos we wanted and be able to see. We are short so it's a necessity to get up close so we didn't have to stare at people's backs.

Like so many things in Yellowstone, an erupting geyser is something you obviously do not see everyday. Definitely worth a stop, there's a reason why this is an icon of Yellowstone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Faithful also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Old Faithful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing