We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Faithful

Old Faithful
Book In Advance
More Info
$265.00*
and up
Old Faithful Geyser Basin Hike
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular geyser located in the Geyser Country region of Yellowstone National Park.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

What can you say about Old Faithful, other than it's not so faithful anymore? I does not spout on time, but they give you a range of time.

They have nice bleachers on which to wait, and then view this incredible event of nature. So beautiful it just entrances you. It's so worth the walk, and the wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MoobyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,994
    844
    289
    53
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
402 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Magical in the Winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I haven't seen Old Faithful in the summer but I feel quite confident it is even more beautiful in the winter because of all the excess smoke and it wasn't crowded. The geyser erupts every 90 minutes, plus or minus 10 minutes. They let you know the approximate time of the next eruption in the visitor center and elsewhere throughout the park so you can. If you get there shortly after it just erupted, there's places to eat and wait nearby. The whole feeling of Yellowstone in the winter was magical.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lenore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

To see the famous Old Faithful first hand is amazing. The whole area is awash with magical colors and fantastic sights, some of which I consider even better than the Old Faithful. The area is a photographers dream. They let you know an approximate time when the geyser erupts inside the visitors centre. We did not stay at the Old Faithful Lodge but at the cabins. I will pass comment on the cabins later, they are ok inside but when you approach you do wonder what you are letting yourself in for!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hopalong6845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Most famous spot in Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'd say Old Faithful is the most iconic site in Yellowstone. It's what you see in cartoons and movies. Therefore, it's a must-see if you're in the park. It is touristy and crowded, so be prepared for that. The geyser erupts about once every hour; they provide an estimate of the next eruption time inside the visitor center. The closer to the anticipated eruption time, the harder it is to find a good spot to sit or even stand. Once it erupts, it's a thing of beauty. The best part of this geyser is that its eruptions last for quite some time. So you'll definitely be able to shoot a good video.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shubh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never gets old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

12 years ago I saw Old Faithful for the first time and was just amazed. I was happy to go on this trip again with my husband who has never seen anything like that before. I was just amazed as the first time and seeing my husband's reaction was worth it again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neekzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Faithful also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Old Faithful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing