We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabin and hearty breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pippin Lake Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Copper Center B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's a perfect place to stay and relax. We spent 2 nights there and really enjoy the beautiful lake view. We love its cozy decoration and enjoy the hearty breakfast. It also equips with the full kitchen for allowing us to make our own food. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleneHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Pippin Lake Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was the highlight of our stay in Alaska. I stayed here with three friends for one night on the way to Valdez. It is a lovely cabin with well equipped amenities. Gail had prepared us delicious cookies when we arrived. Breakfast was great. We especially like the homemade fireweed jam.
The view of the water front is breathtaking. There are canoe, kayak and paddleboat at the dock for us to ride. We had a great barbecue dinner at the lakeside.
We had a wonderful time here! Thanks Gail for the bottles of jam and providing us such a sweet hospitality.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Teresa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We live in Alaska and wanted to take a weekend trip near Valdez. This cabin was a nice retreat, close to Salmon fishing and sitting on a little lake. The cabin was very cozy and fit two adults, an infant, and three young children very nicely. They provided many choices for breakfast, towels, life vests and many items to use in the yard and on the lake including a peddleboat (which we used a lot as the kids loved it), a kayak, canoe, and paddle boat. The beds were comfortable, and we were able to watch a movie in the evening as they had a good selection of dvds. We will definitely go back when we have the chance!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently spent three nights at the Pippin Lake B&B and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B&B is a stand alone cottage on the shores of Pippin Lake right on the Richardson Highway.

The B&B consists of a living area, a kitchen / dining area, a bedroom and a small bathroom. There is a small back and front deck. There is a lawn area at the lake with a two person swing. Guests also have access to use a canoe, a kayak or a paddleboat on Pippin Lake. Mt. Drum in the Wrangell range and the Chugach range mountains are both clearly visible from the lakefront.

The B&B is well stocked with games and more food than we could eat for breakfast - fresh baked goods as well as an assortment of cold cereals and granola.

We found the B&B very comfortable and well heated. It rained one evening and we went to bed with the sound of rain falling on the roof - quite relaxing. While one can hear traffic on the Richardson, that did not keep us awake. The only other noise you will hear is of the birds singing in the many trees nearby. The bathroom is a bit on the small side, and the hot water tank is "on demand." That is sufficient for a quick shower, but for two people, it works best if you plan to space out the showers.

I believe the B&B is very well located. It is 0.3 miles south of the Edgerton Highway to Chitina and McCarthy / Kennicott. It is less than a two hour drive to Valdez (watch out for construction delays in Keystone Canyon in early summer 2012). It is less than a 1/2 hour drive to Copper Center (the roadhouse / lodge had a major fire this spring). There is a great viewpoint of the Wrangells across Willow Lake at milepost 88 on the Richardson and at milepost 88.5, on the west side of the Richardson is a pull off to a viewpoint and interpretive sign about the Alaska Pipeline. The Tonzina Lodge / restaurant is two miles south of the B&B. All in all, for being in "your own little world," there is quite a bit to see and do nearby or as day trips.

We would highly recommend this B&B for a relaxing stay in this part of Alaska.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Maybe it was us and not the cabin .......we were tired after a full day of Alaska adventure and just didn't expect the log cabin experience. The bed is hard with flannel sheets. The on demand water heater is lacking. The shower is small. Too remote for my wifi. On the good side...there was nobody around to cause a stir. The setting was outstanding. The hostess was accommodating. There was food available for breakfast. The lake was beautiful and there was an assortment of watercraft to try. Lodging prices in Alaska is run the gamut but we feel at $150 this was too high.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank PATSYandSTAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

All we were looking for was a nice little self-catering place to break up the long drive from McCarthy to Fairbanks. What we found instead was one of the prettiest places on our 2 month trip through Alaska. The location on the lake was gorgeous and the cabin itself was spotlessly clean, with an abundance of breakfast items provided. We couldn't come close to eating up all the goodies so packed them away as snacks for later.
The use of the small water craft was a terrific amenity. The beautiful waterside location make Pippin Lake a destination in its own right...not just a stop between Fairbanks and Valdez. We plan to return some day with the grand kids.
All in all a nice, homey, and relaxing little place - loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is the most amazing little cabin in the most amazing location you can possibly imagine.

Located on the stunningly beautiful Richardson Highway, we were amazed by what we found. We did not expect this...

The cabin is so charming, so well appointed, so cozy, it's hard to believe it was a cabin in the middle of some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, in the middle of absolutely nowhere!!

A beautiful kitchen, sitting room and lovely comfy bed with a marvelous quit. The kitchen was stocked with food, so really we needed to go nowhere.

As you stroll out the back, you encounter what appears to be your own private lake.. Pippin Lake. A paddleboat, and a kayak is yours for your enjoyment at the end of your own private small dock. You have your own barbecue, your own lovely little wooden swing with a fire pit in front of it. It was like a childhood dream come true.

It is so private, so secluded, so serene and peaceful, it literally brought tears to my wife's eyes. So quiet and tranquil. We never saw any life at all on the lake. It is as though you have the entire lake to yourself, and that it is all yours.

Come for a day, a week or more. You will be so pleased.

This place is like a little heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyWanderers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
20.5 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
22.9 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
9.7 mi away
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Copper Center
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
18.8 mi away
Klutina Kate's B&B
Klutina Kate's B&B
#7 of 10 in Copper Center
2 reviews
28.7 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pippin Lake Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pippin Lake Bed and Breakfast

Address: 82 Richardson Highway, Copper Center, AK 99573
Location: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Center
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing