We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Tour!

The tour description “You will see Wrangell-St. Elias National Park” led us to believe that we... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2018
ghmayles81
,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Copper Country Discovery Tour

Jolene was a great guide . I Really enjoyed her personal touch from having grown up in AK. Thanks... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
Voyager47075
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews environmental education princess wilderness lodge plants and animals non profit personal stories brown bear great guide copper country science skull insight pipeline land forest life alaska
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We simply had a blast with Jolene and loved our tour. Lovely hike that was packed with wonderful stories and information. One of our favorite days in Alaska. I especially enjoyed Jolene’s personal stories about life and survival in Alaska. It was really interesting to get to see all the animal pelts up close and learn about how these various breeds and creatures interact. How lucky you are Jolene to live in such a magical place.

Thank Michele I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISE_Staff, General Manager at Copper Country Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful tour with Jolene. It was fun to talk to a local and to learn all about plants and animals in the Copper River area. We highly recommend this tour!

Thank Footprints189667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISE_Staff, Manager at Copper Country Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your afternoon! Hope the rest of your time in Alaska is rewarding as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

This was one of the best tour we took! Joelle taught us everything we needed to know about Alaska. She was the very best. I learned more from her than we learned from our so called tour guide on our trip up!

Thank gina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

This was the best tour we have every had! As the review said ahead of us, we were also on a 7 night Princess inland tour of Alaska, staying at the Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge. There was just 3 of us on the tour, but wished there was more so they could have experienced what we did! We told everyone about this tour as Jolene was extremely knowledgeable about the land, plants, animals and the people. We walked through the forest and learned about so many plants and how they are used for medicinal purposes. We then went an stood under the Alaskan Pipeline, learned about the different parts and were amazed at just what these people went thought to build it. We ended up in a big tent to learn about the animals of the area. We held animal pelts from ermine to bear. Plus holding each of their skulls, she told us why their skulls were shaped differently and how they functioned for each animal. The 4 hours of this tour flew by so fast and we didn't want it to end! We learned more from her than any other tour. Thank you so much Jolene, you are the best!

Thank GretJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISE_Staff, General Manager at Copper Country Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your enthusiastic review, and for spending an afternoon with us. We are glad your day was full of adventure and learning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Last month my wife and I took a Princess Tour/Cruise of Alaska. One of our stops was at the Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge where we took the Copper Country Discovery Tour. We both agree, it was such a pleasant and interesting time. The four hrs. just flew by. We had the benefit of a very small group which included just one other couple. Our guide was easy to hear, easy to follow and more than willing to answer all our questions.
The scenery was breathtaking and our guide, Jolene, was quite knowledgeable and well versed in the regional flora and fauna! I know the Tour wasn't as glamorous as white water kayaking, whale watching or a helicopter ride, however we felt it was quite worth our time and money. Thanks again, Jolene, for sharing your stories and your insight into surviving and living in such a rugged, yet beautiful Wilderness!

Thank Ottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews