We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay with a stunning view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay with a stunning view!”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This is one of the two best accommodations during our driving trip in Alaska (the other one is "Kenai Fjord Glacier Lodge, which opened brand-new on June 1st." You can say it stands out in the middle of nowhere - only magnificent views of mt. st Elias group and the trans-Alaska pipeline. It's a good stopover if you plan to drive b/t Valdez and Fairbanks.
We stayed in the standard room with the mountain view. It's not very spacious but quite normal for a hotel room size and it's clean and comfy for 2 people. We tried the "Two River restaurant" (the elegant dining one) and the food were very nice. With the fantastic relaxing environment and tasty food in front of us, we just wish we could have spend one more nights there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepywy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    119
    39
    14
    12
See reviews for
75
183
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This hotel was part of our land excursion with a Princess Alaska cruise - 2 nights. The place is small (only 80+ rooms) and is isolated on the west edge of Wrangell/St. Elias National Park. Nice views to Mt. Drum and Wrangell and the river valley. Quiet, well equipped rooms, decent restaurant, and a fire in the fireplace every night. Staff we friendly and ready to serve. If you are looking for a lot of activity, this is not the place for you. If you want to sit, read and take one of the day trips (we went flightseeing over the glaciers in clear weather), it is very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiddlebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is a really nice hotel on a hill on the opposite side of the Copper Center area on the Richardson Hwy.

It's a really upscale lodge type place with a huge entry level gathering place, and a second floor balcony with a few open use wi-fi computers, and a few tables for guests to set up theirs.

We had booked using a special Wed PM $89 rate because the normal Princess tours usage does not use the place this day.

We had a large room overlooking the grassy areas and patio. It was a warm day, and we were rather exhausted from hiking around Kennecott, and driving back from McCarthy, so we did little but eat dinner, play on the computer and go to sleep. We slept quite well in the very quiet environment.

We did use the restaurant, opting for the "tavern" informality, where we each had a very acceptable and tasty platter, and shared a beer, for about $15 each plus $5 for a beer. For breakfast, we caught some stuff at the market on the Glenn Hwy in Glennallen, as we drove west.

There was a short mishap at checkout which was adjusted fairly readily, which was that we were presented with a balance due that was more than our dinners and room. Apparently, a server was careless about which room number was presented and marked down. The chits from the previous evening needed to be pulled out. The times pretty well overlapped, and the beer consumption was clearly for 4 versus our party of two. So, the charge was cleared, and we went on our way.

We were disappointed. Did not see any moose or other animals on the property. If you are on a Princess or other tour, you are captive in that nothing else is near, as in an hour or two walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, TX
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed one night in June (enroute to see Wrangell St. Elias National Park). This one was recommended to us as an option by an outfitter. it is a bit "pricey", but is probably the best in that area. It was very clean, comfortable and the staff was great. It has some hiking trails and I believe they offer several area tours. It caters to the more "well off" cruiselines clientele and some of those guests were quite rude - but as far as the lodge staff - they were wonderful and very friendly. I would probably check out staying in Kennicott in the park next time around - if their prices are just as high - shrug off some of the rude guests and stay at the Princess anyway - they don't pick their guests!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I was visiting Alaska after a 28 year absence. Having driven the ALCAN Highway in 1980 my wife elected to stay at home and let me check another thing off of my Bucket List and I spend 10 days in AK July/August 2008, flying into Anchorage. Anyway, the Princess is far superior to most accomodations in AK. Most folks do not travel independently and have no clue as to how inferior most accomodations are in the likes of Fairbanks, Glennallen etc. Was going to stay in Glennallen until a room became available at the Princess. Accomodations, food and bar, staff etc. were the welcome two day stay I needed after 6 days on the road. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaplesBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta GA
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I got two nights for the price of one - which made this a much better hotel stay than it otherwise would have been.
I was not with a group on a tour through princess, which would greatly have changed the visit. The cruise/tour people had to put their luggage outside their door teh night before they were to leave in order to have them loaded, and i thought it was rediculous adn would've irritated me.
The lodge is on a bluff all by itself, so unless you have a car, you are stuck there with nothing else around. there is not much in the "town" but at least you ahve some other options for meals.
There were nice hiking trails on the property, but had to watch for bears. sled dogs tours looked really neat but did not partake due to small children.

the restaurant looked awesome. I got food from the bar and it was devine! a bit expensive, but everything in alaska is, especially as remote as you are there.

The rooms were very clean and nicely appointed, but a bit small if you have kids.
Staff was incredibly nice and very friendly.

teh views of Wrangel/St. Elias moutains from teh grand room were the best. It was a great place to sit and read abook or visit with friends.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stayed here at the end of an Alaskan cruise with Princess, though I booked it independently. The lodge offers impressive views of the Wrangell/St/ Elias National Park, and in my opinion is the only game in town, as lodging options (and all other options) are quite limited in this neck of the woods. Rooms are clean and have a rustic decor that was overtly Disney-like as if you didn't already know you were in Alaska. There is free internet usage at a small station on the second floor that is on a first come, first serve basis. This is only a problem when a huge influx of cruise-tour passengers arrive, which make up probably 95% of the guests. We saved some money by staying on days when most cruise-tours are elsewhere.
The real attraction is the spacious lobby with huge windows facing the mountains. We enjoyed lounging around in front of the fireplace and watching the Alpenglow. Outside there is a nice lawn with shuffleboard and some walking trails for more mountain lookouts. The restaurants were good but nothing to write home about, as was the case with most of Alaska.
The area itself isn't exaclty brimming with activities. At the park entrance there are some short trails but nothing that will get you close to the mountains. To see them you'd either have to take an excursion to McCarthy or take a flightseeing tour out of the nearby Gulkana/Gakona airport. Our group did the latter and it was money well spent. Otherwise, while nice, the trip to this remote corner of the state just isn't worth the time and effort to get here, and the hotel, while just fine, is a bit pricey for what you get. But as mentioned before, they've pretty much got a monopoly as the king of all accomodation in the region.

  • Liked — The Lobby
  • Disliked — Not a whole lot for the money
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SirVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
1.5 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
14.5 mi away
No photo provided
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 10 in Copper Center
9 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Klutina Kate's B&B
#6 of 10 in Copper Center
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Brenwick Craig Road, Mile 102 Richardson Highway, Copper Center, AK 99573
Location: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Copper Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper River Princess Wilderness Hotel Copper Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing