We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
182
130
40
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
130
40
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswrangell stelias national parkflag ceremonymountain rangewalking trailssalmon sandwichtour deskgreat roomland tourlarge lobbyrichardson hwyeach eveningthe whistle stopvisitor centerthe hotel managerbar grillgift shop
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 379 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This hotel was part of our land excursion with a Princess Alaska cruise - 2 nights. The place is small (only 80+ rooms) and is isolated on the west edge of Wrangell/St. Elias National Park. Nice views to Mt. Drum and Wrangell and the river valley. Quiet, well equipped rooms, decent restaurant, and a fire in the fireplace every night. Staff we friendly and ready to serve. If you are looking for a lot of activity, this is not the place for you. If you want to sit, read and take one of the day trips (we went flightseeing over the glaciers in clear weather), it is very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiddlebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is a really nice hotel on a hill on the opposite side of the Copper Center area on the Richardson Hwy.

It's a really upscale lodge type place with a huge entry level gathering place, and a second floor balcony with a few open use wi-fi computers, and a few tables for guests to set up theirs.

We had booked using a special Wed PM $89 rate because the normal Princess tours usage does not use the place this day.

We had a large room overlooking the grassy areas and patio. It was a warm day, and we were rather exhausted from hiking around Kennecott, and driving back from McCarthy, so we did little but eat dinner, play on the computer and go to sleep. We slept quite well in the very quiet environment.

We did use the restaurant, opting for the "tavern" informality, where we each had a very acceptable and tasty platter, and shared a beer, for about $15 each plus $5 for a beer. For breakfast, we caught some stuff at the market on the Glenn Hwy in Glennallen, as we drove west.

There was a short mishap at checkout which was adjusted fairly readily, which was that we were presented with a balance due that was more than our dinners and room. Apparently, a server was careless about which room number was presented and marked down. The chits from the previous evening needed to be pulled out. The times pretty well overlapped, and the beer consumption was clearly for 4 versus our party of two. So, the charge was cleared, and we went on our way.

We were disappointed. Did not see any moose or other animals on the property. If you are on a Princess or other tour, you are captive in that nothing else is near, as in an hour or two walk.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed one night in June (enroute to see Wrangell St. Elias National Park). This one was recommended to us as an option by an outfitter. it is a bit "pricey", but is probably the best in that area. It was very clean, comfortable and the staff was great. It has some hiking trails and I believe they offer several area tours. It caters to the more "well off" cruiselines clientele and some of those guests were quite rude - but as far as the lodge staff - they were wonderful and very friendly. I would probably check out staying in Kennicott in the park next time around - if their prices are just as high - shrug off some of the rude guests and stay at the Princess anyway - they don't pick their guests!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I was visiting Alaska after a 28 year absence. Having driven the ALCAN Highway in 1980 my wife elected to stay at home and let me check another thing off of my Bucket List and I spend 10 days in AK July/August 2008, flying into Anchorage. Anyway, the Princess is far superior to most accomodations in AK. Most folks do not travel independently and have no clue as to how inferior most accomodations are in the likes of Fairbanks, Glennallen etc. Was going to stay in Glennallen until a room became available at the Princess. Accomodations, food and bar, staff etc. were the welcome two day stay I needed after 6 days on the road. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaplesBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I got two nights for the price of one - which made this a much better hotel stay than it otherwise would have been.
I was not with a group on a tour through princess, which would greatly have changed the visit. The cruise/tour people had to put their luggage outside their door teh night before they were to leave in order to have them loaded, and i thought it was rediculous adn would've irritated me.
The lodge is on a bluff all by itself, so unless you have a car, you are stuck there with nothing else around. there is not much in the "town" but at least you ahve some other options for meals.
There were nice hiking trails on the property, but had to watch for bears. sled dogs tours looked really neat but did not partake due to small children.

the restaurant looked awesome. I got food from the bar and it was devine! a bit expensive, but everything in alaska is, especially as remote as you are there.

The rooms were very clean and nicely appointed, but a bit small if you have kids.
Staff was incredibly nice and very friendly.

teh views of Wrangel/St. Elias moutains from teh grand room were the best. It was a great place to sit and read abook or visit with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews