We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
182
130
40
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
130
40
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wrangell st elias national park flag ceremony mountain range walking trails salmon sandwich tour desk great room land tour large lobby richardson hwy each evening the whistle stop visitor center the hotel manager bar grill gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 379 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We already stopped by this lodge last year and we were slightly disappointed by the staff attitude and the quality of the room. Nevertheless, we decided to come back to this hotel this year and we spent one night on Aug 22. We immediately saw a change compare to last year. The staff was professional and smiling and gave us all the information we needed. The room was clean. We had a diner at the restaurant and were satisfied. We did not experienced again the breakfast, because we were disappointed last year. The WiFi is only available in the lobby which is a constraint and the lobby is very often noisy. So, one improvement would be to have the Wifi available in the rooms. Another improvement probably more important is the phonic isolation of the rooms. The one we had this year was just above the external air conditioning/ventilation system which was very noisy. With ear plug it was ok! All in all, this is a good place to stay on the Richardson HWY

Room Tip: if possible, try to get room with a view on the mountains or far from external ventilation system
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited here after driving the Denali Highway, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room had a great view across the valley to the mountains. The staff was wonderful- really friendly and helpful, advising us about activities. We had some choices to make due to an unforeseen change in our itinerary and they advised us well. Good laundry facilities, free wifi and 2 restaurants. The food in the bar was very mixed- I had a delicious scallop dinner, whereas my friend ordered a pesto flatbread pizza which was terrible. Order carefully!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice, quite and clean with average size rooms. Great views and walking trails on the property. The staff was very helpful. We had breakfast in the dining room and it was fair. We had dinner in the bar and the food was very good. There is wifi in the lobby but we were unsuccessful in getting connected. Just passing through for one night and it was a very nice refreshing place to stop.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a view or you get the parking lot.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBugQH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent two nights here to visit McCarthy and Kennicott Mine. Had an okay room, older furnishings and parking lot view. Meals were all very good. Didn't like that WiFi is only in the lobby not in your room, not too handy. There are two computers to use on the second floor lobby. Front desk people all helpful but found the tour desk person not very helpful and they charged $10 more for a shuttle than if we would have booked ourselves. When they cleaned the room for the second day they didn't empty the garbage, thought that strange. There is not much around this hotel, thought we would find some snacks for our long shuttle ride, had to go miles for a small convenience store that didn't have much of anything, so bring whatever you need!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our 2nd tour to Alaska in the past 6 years and our 1st to Copper River Princesss Wilderness Lodge. The accommodations were great and the views were tremendous. We definitely would stay here again. We read some of the average and poor ratings and that is what prompted us to write this review. Those who did not rate this outstanding were probrably some of the more "prissy" visitors that can not give a good rating unless their catered to for every little thing. And yes, we were cruise line guests and don't like the fact that those negative people put down cruise line guests. And guess what, we aren't senior citizens!!!! This lodge is outstanding and we would come agian and again. We want to thnak the manager for the outstanding ceremony that he and his staff did for our vetereans which is done every night as they lower the flag.

We want to thank the front desk and staff for a superb job, the park ranger for the walking tour, the Princess Cruise Line for offering such a beautiful place to stay and the resturant employees for the great menu and meals. Congratualtions to all for a job well done.

For the naysayers and they are very few, maybe they need to stay in their 5 star hotels in Paris, France or New York City, then they can live in their sound proof rooms and enjoy the city traffic and their caviar!

Princess.......this was a great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend this hotel and stop to anyone whether you are on a cruise package or just passing by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gisye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews