We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No real reason to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I'm surprised this place gets such good reviews. There's nothing wrong with the hotel -- it offers Princess Lodge comforts in the middle of the wilderness. What IS wrong with the place is that it's in a pretty dull location. While there's a nice view, it's pretty far from major Alaskan tourist sites (like Kennicott, Denali or Valdez) and the immediate area is pretty sleepy. I did the hotel's trails and the one at the nearby Wrangell Park visitor's center, but the hiking in the area is only so-so. If you don't hike, the only other alternatives are a few tours -- most of them overpriced because they're run by Princess.

I think the hotel works best as an overnight on the way to somewhere else. Two nights (and they frequently offer 2 for 1 deals) would be more time than you need in the area, and anything longer than that would be more punishment than pleasure. Also note that the hotel, unlike some other Princess Lodges, offers only a limited activity schedule, so don't look for them to entertain you much. Most of the guests are elderly package tour visitors, but you won't feel uncomfortable as an independent traveller. Meal prices are fair by Alaska standards.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2008

The Princess hotel in Copper Center was a pleasant surprise, the location of the hotel allows you to visit Valdez, Wrangell National Park, Glenallen, and several other interesting sights. The rooms were fairly nice,and comfortable, the lobby and bar area was set up very nicely. The hotel offered internet service and also had a couple of computers if you did not bring one. The hotel food was pretty good, the service was also good. the prices were normal Alaska prices.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Flyerno.one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My husband and I have returned from a two week trip to Alaska and this property was one of our favorite lodging on the trip. They had just opened for the season and it was running smoothly. It is a nice property, beautiful area and remote location; the staff was very pleasant. From the guests we talked w/, most were on a Princess cruise and were on a land excursion, but we were not. We were looking for a hotel near the Wrangell-St. Elias Nat'l Park and this was a gem. There are not many hotels in the area and we were very pleased w/ this choice. Our rate was about $100/night which was a bargain-we thought.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HooHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We happened upon this great hotel by thumbing through a travel book. I hadn't thought to call because I figured it would cost a fortune to stay there however after stopping by one of the local hotel accomidations and being blown away by their price I decided to give the Princess a call. To our disbelief we struck gold. Our rate was $99. total for the night. The loby is beautiful. The rooms were very clean and just above average. The entire staff was amazing especially the waitresses in the dining room. The property around the hotel was set up nicely with many walking paths and many lovely views in all directions.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lovtotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed in the lodge on night on July 10, 2007. It was one of the noisiest nights in a hotel that I have ever had. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and the noise here was worse than some of my trips to New York City!

The problem is that even though this is a new lodge opened in 2002, it is made of wood. We had a ground floor room with a great view, but pounding feet overhead almost all night. The pounding stopped at around 1 AM and started again around 4 AM. The noise wasn't just from the room above us either; we could hear all the hallway noise from above as well. To top it off, many of the other guests at the lodge were traveling as part of Princess Tours and were older. Perhaps they have never traveled much before retirement and don't have any hotel manners or perhaps they don't realize how loud they are speaking, but there were large groups congregating in the hallways and talking at all hours. It was awful. We arrived at the lodge after a long kayak day trip to Columbia Glacier out of Valdez. We really needed some rest, but gave up early in the morning and left because it was simply impossible to ignore the vibrations of the pounding feet and talking in the hallways.

It might look great from home, but even for $99 we paid, the lodge just isn't worth it. Maybe if you got a second floor room, building noise could be avoided, but you would still have to deal with the tour groups. Besides all that, the checkout clerk was rude. I'm not sure they like the non-tour guests being there.

One more item, this is supposed to be a luxury accomodation, the curtain was laughable for Alaska in July. It barely blocked any light at all!

But, without the noise, the room and facilities would be very nice. I just wish they had built masonry instead of wood!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

This is a lovely lodge. The rooms are pretty and the public rooms (the bar, restaurant and central area) are quite nice. Most of the guests are cruise ship passengers so the tours which are offered by the hotel are generally available only every third day during the summer (when the cruise ship passengers stay at the lodge). This caused problems for me as I was at the lodge for 4 nights and wanted to take tours on days when the cruise passengers were not in residence. Eventually, I was able to book the sled dog ride by paying for two people instead of a single, and the tour company which ran the Copper River tour was able to put together a group of its own. I was only able to book the Wrangell St. Elias air tour by booking with the flight company directly and not through the hotel's tour desk. There are special deals available through the web for this property. The regular room rate was close to $200 per night but I was able to book it on the Princess website for $99 per night. The Wrangell St EIlias area is for people who have already done the Denali experience and are looking for a more Alaskan adventure. The park is truly amazing and should not be missed. This property makes an excellent base for those people who do not want to stay in the park but who want proximity. It would also be a good choice for people driving from Fairbanks to Valdez.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VolcanoGroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

The lodge is remote but genteel, with an unbeatable mountain view, beautiful interior, lovely rooms, great grounds, very nice restaurant, and enticing gift shop. Friendly and helpful personnel. Would definitely return for another stay. A perfect stop along the drive between Fairbanks and Valdez.

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank travelerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
1.5 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Klutina Kate's B&B
Klutina Kate's B&B
#7 of 10 in Copper Center
3 reviews
14.5 mi away
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Copper Center
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#8 of 10 in Copper Center
4 reviews
12.8 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Brenwick Craig Road, Mile 102 Richardson Highway, Copper Center, AK 99573
Location: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Copper Center
Price Range: $99 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper River Princess Wilderness Hotel Copper Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing