We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
182
130
40
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
130
40
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wrangell st elias national park flag ceremony mountain range walking trails salmon sandwich tour desk great room land tour large lobby richardson hwy each evening the whistle stop visitor center the hotel manager bar grill gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 379 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of our Princess land tour but we hope to come back again on our own! All the help was super friendly and helpful.....all the way from front desk, restaurant, bar, gift shops, maids, etc. In fact, the gift shop lady lent me her super glue to fix my shoe when they had none to buy. The view from the lobby is unbelieveable!! We spent hours just watching the mountain view. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The nightly flag ceremony was great! There are trails to take short walks and the grounds are beautifully kept. The meals in the bar and restaurant were all very good with generous servings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived late, but were still given first class service. The restaurant was closed during our visit, but the smaller grill area was open and served us a fantastic meal. The surrounding views were stunning. We had driven almost all day across one of the most treacherous highways I have ever seen, so we were quite exhausted. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. I think this is a great place to stay and should I ever be back to this state, I would like spend several days at this facility.

Room Tip: I do not think it will make any difference which room you get as this is an awesome place.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We left Fairbanks at noon and were really exhausted when we arrived at this property 5 hours later. The desk clerk welcomed us and had us laughing despite our frazzled state. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the mountains which was a great room. We were able to have a wonderful Salmon BLT in the bar for dinner. The dining room wasn't open at 9:30, but the bar was just fine. The waiter was from Utah and spent time with us talking about a recent trip we had had to Utah. The bed was comfortable and we slept with the window open it was so quiet. We slept so well that we didn't have breakfast until 9:20 and the staff still took care of us despite how late we were. The room was clean and had everything we needed.

One point.. this is a Princess property and it handles people who leave on tourbuses early in the morning and leave their luggage outside the door at night. It puzzled us how that works as we were not on a tour... but they seemed to be out of the hotel by the time we got up, so it didn't impact us at all. As we had one of the best rooms in the hotel and we only stayed for one night, it didn't appear to us that the hotel favoured the tourbus folk.

As always, in any hotel, if you want a room facing the mountains on the top floor... just ask for it.

Room Tip: The AC is not really required, open your windows and enjoy the evening...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkmdgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way to Fairbanks. The lodge is lovely, the staff friendly and the food in the restaurant was decent. The view from the lobby is spectacular ! It is primarily for people on Princess Line cruise/tours but we stayed there while we were traveling independently. Our room was nice sized, very clean and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mustanggirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are looking to explore this area of Alaska, this is a great place to stay, even if you are not part of the Princess cruises. The hotel is lovely, with a gorgeous lobby and loft area with wifi access and stunning views. The hotel staff are very friendly and the food served at the bar and in the restaurant is wonderful. A 2.5 hour drive will get you to McCarthy and Kennicott, a "don't miss" when in this area (doable as a day trip). The hotel can hook you up with a variety of excursion activities, or if you have a car, you can do them on your own. If driving thru, the Valdez ferry will take you to other destinations and save a lot of driving. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews