We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
182
131
40
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
131
40
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswrangell stelias national parkflag ceremonymountain rangewalking trailssalmon sandwichtour deskgreat roomland tourlarge lobbyeach eveningthe whistle stopthe hotel managerbar grillmain restaurantvisitor centertwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 380 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We left Fairbanks at noon and were really exhausted when we arrived at this property 5 hours later. The desk clerk welcomed us and had us laughing despite our frazzled state. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the mountains which was a great room. We were able to have a wonderful Salmon BLT in the bar for dinner. The dining room wasn't open at 9:30, but the bar was just fine. The waiter was from Utah and spent time with us talking about a recent trip we had had to Utah. The bed was comfortable and we slept with the window open it was so quiet. We slept so well that we didn't have breakfast until 9:20 and the staff still took care of us despite how late we were. The room was clean and had everything we needed.

One point.. this is a Princess property and it handles people who leave on tourbuses early in the morning and leave their luggage outside the door at night. It puzzled us how that works as we were not on a tour... but they seemed to be out of the hotel by the time we got up, so it didn't impact us at all. As we had one of the best rooms in the hotel and we only stayed for one night, it didn't appear to us that the hotel favoured the tourbus folk.

As always, in any hotel, if you want a room facing the mountains on the top floor... just ask for it.

Room Tip: The AC is not really required, open your windows and enjoy the evening...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkmdgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way to Fairbanks. The lodge is lovely, the staff friendly and the food in the restaurant was decent. The view from the lobby is spectacular ! It is primarily for people on Princess Line cruise/tours but we stayed there while we were traveling independently. Our room was nice sized, very clean and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mustanggirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are looking to explore this area of Alaska, this is a great place to stay, even if you are not part of the Princess cruises. The hotel is lovely, with a gorgeous lobby and loft area with wifi access and stunning views. The hotel staff are very friendly and the food served at the bar and in the restaurant is wonderful. A 2.5 hour drive will get you to McCarthy and Kennicott, a "don't miss" when in this area (doable as a day trip). The hotel can hook you up with a variety of excursion activities, or if you have a car, you can do them on your own. If driving thru, the Valdez ferry will take you to other destinations and save a lot of driving. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The rooms were clean & comfortable and we had a great view. The grounds are nice with walking trails on them. It is kinda in the middle of nowhere, we drove to Valdez for a tour. We stayed two nights and it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights through our Princess land tour. Favorite lodge of the three we stayed at ( McKinley and Denali). The manager really makes you feel welcome. Got in our bus to greet us and announce those that were on the trip to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and yes...a honeymoon! They really honor veterans at this lodge. Pins and flags given to vets and a daily flag ceremony at 8:30pm. Very moving. We also received a thank you letter before we left thanking my boyfriend for his service. The views are great. Had a great meal at the bar , but I love that you can order food off the dining room menu as well and nit have to get dressed up After a long day out touring. The pop machine was out if service and at 10pm two employees hunted down a bottle of Coca-Cola for me and then refused to take money for it, just apologized for inconveniencing me. Loved sitting on the patio enjoying the views. Laundry room is hidden on the 2nd floor without any signs directing you to find it and does not have a change machine, get change at the desk before going up there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharmaneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews