We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a piece of Heaven”
Review of Willow Lake B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Lake B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Copper Center B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We absolutely loved this beautiful B&B on Willow Lake as an overnight on our way to Valdez. The cabin had so much rustic charm but with all the amenities you needed. The Queen bed was very comfortable and the view from it of the lake was serene. The property is well maintained and you can see all the love that was put into the construction. We loved sitting in the adirondack chairs on the porch and appreciated the anti-mosquito coils. The views of the mountains across the lake were spectacular and having the hand carved sign pointing out the names and elevations were a nice touch. The cabin could not have been cleaner or cozier. We loved all the tools and relics along the garage as sort of a museum. The tour of the house was nice but like another reviewer mentioned, we're not the type that likes to see dead animals on walls. I had read the reviews when I booked this so I wasn't offended. Breakfast was good especially the bread that Linda made. Her husband Jim had made sourdough pancakes and personally I'm more of a waffle kind of girl. We have already recommended the cabin to family that lives in Alaska and would certainly recommend to others. If you're offended by hunted animals mounted in the house than I would recommend the continental breakfast. Also, I wish we had known that they had steaks & salmon available to cook ourselves (at a modest cost) because we would have loved to do this. We figured we better eat dinner before we arrived so we ate at a mexican food truck in Copper Center. Not a bad place, I'm just certain that a nicely grilled steak would have been much nicer lakeside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for your review! Sorry it took so long to write a response. We really appreciate you taking the time to critique us and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had the incredible fortune to choose Willow Lake B&B for one night but wished we had book it for 2 nights in May 2014. When we arrived we were greeted by Linda, who showed us around the property and explained the workings of items in the single, spectacular log cabin built by Jim, her husband. It was one of the most ideal settings we have encountered in our world-wide travels. Having your own log cabin on a lake with all the conveniences of home made it super special. Just be sure to bring mosquito repellant!
There is a large picture window with a ledge and a table that folds down against the wall, making it very convenient for space during the day and put away at night. The window looks out over Willow Lake & shore with views across the lake to the mountains in Wrangell-St. Elias National Park.
With a microwave and all the "kitchen" items, we decided to "cook in" that night. We had purchased food for that purpose when in Anchorage the night before. I highly recommend getting some provisions for cooking before heading out of the main cities.
The road from Anchorage to Copper Center is so spectacular that it took us hours to get to Willow Lake. We stopped many times to marvel at the incredible beauty of the area. We stopped at the visitor's center in Glenallen for some coffee and met a former Hawaiian friend who now lives in Alaska. Talk about small world.
Once we left Glenallen the mountain views and canyons begged to be photographed! Mt Drum, a part of the Wrangle Mountains, was in full sunshine and beautifully displayed for photos. Before we got to Willow Lake B&B, the mountains were from left to right: Mt. Sanford, Mt. Drum, Mt. Wrangell, and Mt. Blackburn. A stop over-looking Copper River was spectacular with the mountains in the background. Once in the Willow Lake area the order of the mountains change.
We didn't arrive at Willow Lake B&B until almost 6 pm. In front of the main house log cabin, Jim and Linda have floating duck and swan decoys. There are LIVE ducks and swan all around but it was quite windy when we arrived and blowing off the lake. Because the mosquitos would be at the main entry area we entered from the lake side. There is a private parking area very close to the deck and the lake entry. Normally, Linda said, the wind comes from the opposite direction.
Jim has gathered all sorts of Alaskan artifacts that he displays all around the property. With my husband originally growing up in Fairbanks, he especially appreciated some of the very old tools. Jim takes lots of pride, and rightly so, of his collection of artifacts and animal and bird displays mounted inside his log cabin house. He had lots of knowledge about birds, etc.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvcruzin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our B&B . We really enjoyed meeting you . Always enjoy seeing everything thru new eyes. Hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I were touring Alaska with our adult daughter who lives in Anchorage. We pulled in to the Willow Lake B&B on 06/02/2014 and were immediately impressed with the owners log house, the log cabin and other structures. What a beautiful property! The cabin was plenty big enough for the 3 of us and is clean and very comfortable. The view out the back door, looking across Willow lake is breath taking!
If we were only talking of the property itself, it would be deserving of an Excellent rating. Start factoring in the owners, and it goes off the scale. Jim and Linda are fabulous! Jim built all of the structures himself, and to call him an avid sportsman/hunter would be an understatement! We had a wonderful breakfast with Linda, and could have talked with her for hours! In short, it is a great place with some great people! My only regret is that we couldn't stay there another night!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review of our cabin. We enjoyed your visit as much as you seemed to enjoy staying here. We love sharing our little bit of paradise especially with visitors that so enjoy it. Hope we will meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

we stayed at Willow Lake for two nights. The cabin was charming and very comfortable. The view of the lake was wonderful unfortunately, we couldn't sit outside because of the mosquitos. Linda and Jim were friendly and provided suggestions for activities in the area. Breakfast was adequate however the same both days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed your stay and hope some day you will come our way again. We will work on the mosquito issue! ; )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

During a few rainy days, we were not looking forward to the mosquitoes that would come with setting up our tent, so we wanted to find cabin or hotel to stay in. Of course everything seemed booked, until we called Willow Lake B&B. Our hosts, Jim & Linda, originally planning on taking the night off, welcomed us to their home. We had a lovely stay in the log cabin built on the property.
This cabin was made by the owner, Jim, and was absolutely stunning! The view cannot be beat. I enjoyed sitting and just admiring the views. My husband and I also loved the mailboxes that welcome you at 3 different levels, one for air mail, one for regular mail, and one at ground level for snail mail.
Linda's cooking was delicious, she prepared a wonderful breakfast that we both enjoyed before we left.
This is one place that I would not hesitate to recommend to others, and will be sure to visit again next time we are in Alaska. Thank you Linda & Jim!

Room Tip: This cabin has an unbeatable view of Willow Lake. From your window (beside the bed) and from the por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi! Thank You so much for your nice review. So happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved this area as much as we do! I hope you will visit again. Our good fortune to have you find us.
: )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Struggling with what to say about this B&B. It is a beautifully constructed log cabin in a glorious spot, just steps away from an amazingly spectacular lake with snow-capped mountains as a backdrop. Couldn't be more ideal and certainly the property was build and is maintained with much love and attention from the owners. We enjoyed our one-night stay here in the cabin with these views on our way to McCarthy a couple of weeks ago. But, and here's the difficult part, the owner graciously gave us a tour of the main house, again a masterpiece of log construction to show off all his trophy dead animal displays. It's our personal taste, of course, but we are of the convinction that animals should remain wild and alive in their natural surroundings and that hunting is not a sport but rather a slaughter. Man with a gun is not a fair game in our book. So be prepared and be warned, if you decide to stay here. There are hundreds of dead animals shot around the world, like zebras, grizzly bears, wolves, etc. on display in the main house. On the food side, the hostess was away during our stay and the host tried to provide some breakfast staples for us (since we had an early morning departure to fly into McCarthy) but these were unremarkable. In summary, beautiful spot in a very nice, cozy cabin but did not match our philosophy of the animal kingdom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

First I would like to thank you for your stay.
I will say I feel a little disappointed that you downgraded us on cleanliness, comfort and value because of differing views on hunting etc. We did try and make it clear on our web site of our hunting and trapping lifestyle. We have no intention of offending anyone and therefore do try and be upfront on what to expect.
We offer a full breakfast at our home or a Continental Breakfast in the cabin. Sorry you found that lacking.
I do hope your trip to Alaska was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Willow Lake B&B for 3 nights in June 2013 and had a fantastic time. The [hand-built by the owner, Jim] log cabin was absolutely beautiful with everything you need for a short stay in a stunning location. The cabin is literally steps away from the lake shore and the view across the lake to the mountains in Wrangell-St Elias National Park is superb! We opted for the continental breakfast served in our cabin every day and we sat and ate it watching the ducks and swans on the lake. The cabin was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and very cosy. Jim & Linda are very hospitable (and their dogs too!) and we would definitely recommend Willow Lake B&B to anyone considering a stay in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank You! We enjoy hearing that our guests love our little piece of paradise as much as we do! Hope some day you will return!
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
2.4 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
10.6 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
67 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Klutina Kate's B&B
Klutina Kate's B&B
#7 of 10 in Copper Center
3 reviews
36.3 mi away
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Copper Center
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lake B&B

Address: Mile 88.5 Richardson Hwy, Copper Center, AK 99573
Location: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Center
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Lake is a beautiful shallow water lake in South Central Alaska. Beyond the lake the world famous Wrangell Mountains of the Wrangell St. Elias National Park are visible. At mile post 88.5 on the Richardson Highway you will stay in a cozy log cabin filled with the uniqueness of Jim's artistic touch. Although the guest cabin is outfitted with all the amenities of home, you will feel like part of the wilderness while you enjoy the tranquility and view of the wildlife near this serene Alaskan lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing