We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, peaceful, well outfitted cabin”
Review of Willow Lake B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Lake B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Copper Center B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great cabin near a beautiful lake. Hosts were very friendly and helpful with local sightseeing options. We really enjoyed our visit to Liberty Falls and would not have visited it if our hosts had not recommended it. They also provided a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. We enjoyed your stay and are happy you had a great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wonderful handmade lakefront cabin. Comfortable and clean. Very friendly and helpful hosts. We feel like home. Shure one of The best places to stay in Copper Center. Good place to visit McCarthy & Kennicott.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Bernd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Staying at the Willow Lake B&B was a great choice. We found the owners to be friendly and helpful. By talking with them we learned a great deal about this area of Alaska. Jim also gave us an itinerary of possible things to see along the Richardson Highway to Valdez. We found this very helpful. The spots where we stopped were very beautiful. We say eagles, moose and even a black bear fishing for salmon. The cabin was fantastic (built by the owner) and very comfortable. It had everything we could possible want. There was a beautiful of the snow covered mountains of Wrangell-St Elias National Park. We definitely return to this beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

In a 2 week inland trip to Alaska, this was hands-down the best place we stayed in. Jim and Linda are the most wonderful and knowledgable hosts, the cabin is private, extremely well appointed with every comfort and many personal touches (the m&m dispensing moose was our teenage daughter's favorite). The view from the window rivals that of scenic viewpoints on the road, and the location is unbeatable for daytrips to McCarthy-Kennecott, Valdez, etc. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Effie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Staying here was a great experience. As stated in previous reviews, the cabin was hand built by Jim and his superb craftsmanship shows throughout. The interior is cozy and immaculate. The cabin is located right on the shore of a beautiful lake with the snow-covered mountains of
Wrangell - St Elias National Park & Preserve visible on the opposite side. Jim & Linda Marchini are indeed friendly and gracious hosts.

One of the highlights in staying here was getting to know Jim. He is a 40+ year Alaskan resident who has had many fascinating experiences and is willing to share his extensive knowledge of the area. Walking into his hand-built log home for breakfast is like walking into a natural history museum. Jim is willing to cook just about anything you want for breakfast but be sure and try some of his great sourdough pancakes.

After staying here we really felt for the first time that we has truly been to Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was one of our favorite spots in Alaska. The hand-built cabin and furnishings were exquisite and no details were left unattended - inside or outside the cabin. The bed was super comfortable and the linens were extra special. The view of the lake and mountains from the cozy & clean cabin made us wish we could have spent more time at Willow Lake. Linda & Mike were friendly and helpful hosts and we enjoyed Mikes delicious breakfast. Their house is like a museum and we enjoyed Mikes naration as he gave us a tour. We enjoyed viewing the pipelines from just across the end of their driveway. -Carol & Ray, Lancaster, PA

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol and Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and two sons and I stayed here in early June, 2012 and absolutely loved the place. The cabin is all hand built by the owner, Jim Marchini, who is definitely one of the most fascinating people I have ever met. His knowledge of Alaska, its animals, and its people is a real education. Give him a chance to tell you some of his experiences there in the last 40 years! The cabin is beautiful, situated a few feet from Willow Lake, with a wonderful view of the Wrangell-St. Elias Wilderness across in the distance. It's QUIET here, too. Jim serves up a wonderful breakfast (yes, he cooks, too) and definitely one of the highlights of the stay there is his narrated tour through his museum-log home. (Yes, he built this one, too, and is it ever a piece of craftmanship.) Don't miss this place if you are anywhere in the area.

Room Tip: There's only one cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
2.4 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
10.6 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
67 reviews
36.3 mi away
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
Wellwood Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 10 in Copper Center
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Klutina Kate's B&B
Klutina Kate's B&B
#6 of 10 in Copper Center
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lake B&B

Address: Mile 88.5 Richardson Hwy, Copper Center, AK 99573
Location: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Center
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Lake is a beautiful shallow water lake in South Central Alaska. Beyond the lake the world famous Wrangell Mountains of the Wrangell St. Elias National Park are visible. At mile post 88.5 on the Richardson Highway you will stay in a cozy log cabin filled with the uniqueness of Jim's artistic touch. Although the guest cabin is outfitted with all the amenities of home, you will feel like part of the wilderness while you enjoy the tranquility and view of the wildlife near this serene Alaskan lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing