We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Seneca Falls B&B and Inns
yo
1 review
“Great Hosts!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Tony and John are great hosts at the meticulously well kept Manor House. Tony is truly a master of the kitchen for morning breakfast. His modest pride peeks through as he prepares a perfect four cheese egg soufflé or cinnamon/sugar waffles. Home made or locally acquired fruit jams, sauces, and compotes must be experienced. Ask Tony about his herb garden! The beds were extremely comfortable and the parlor was very inviting. Watching the turkeys in the early evening from the front porch provides the perfect end to two long days in wine country. Oh, and for advice on which wineries and eateries to avoid and which not to miss, Tony was right on the mark each time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jetson Room (very cool). But, probably no bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smedly y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Even our tiny poodle loved John Morris Manor Bed and Breakfast in Seneca Falls NY. From the sheltered view of of Lake Cayuga seen while sitting on the porch swing on the large manor-style porch to the large variety of birds that flock to the feeders or the pack of seven deer my husband saw feeding in the wooded meadow behind all was just lovely. The old Victorian house is charmingly decorated and makes one feel a connection to bygone times. Oh, and the food for breakfast!! Everything fresh, delicious and plentiful I was collecting recipes to replicate what Tony served to us. He is quite a cook and host. What a serene and terrific weekend it was. We could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: The yellow room is a good selection if bringing a dog as the door to the back is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tony is the best host. I called to book his B&B for my friend's birthday weekend. The minute I spoke with him on the phone, I knew the place was going to be great. Every room is beautifully appointed. We had a blast hanging out by the fireplace drinking wine and catching up. We were spoiled every morning with a thoughtfully planned 3 course breakfast that Tony made fresh from his kitchen. My friends and I all emailed each other the next week saying we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG31513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night. We were a bit worried about my food since I have a quite intensive list of food allergies, but the hosts were very attentive to our needs. While he and others had a 3 course breakfast, I had a delicious 2 course breakfast that left me more than satisfied. They were incredibly accommodating. The yellow room was adorable and we loved it! We had a private bathroom as well and it was perfect for us. If we ever go back to Seneca Falls, we're more than sure to stay here again! In fact we've already told others to go to this B&B if they're ever in the area.

Room Tip: The yellow room was very cozy and great if you want a private bathroom- it's a stand up shower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I went on line and tried to get a B&B for a weekend getaway with my husband. I must have called about 10 different places and they were all booked. I happened upon this little jewel by accident. I read the reviews (good and bad) but it looked to warm and inviting in the picture, I thought I would give it a chance. I am so glad that I did!!! Our host (Tony who is amazing) met us at the door and after talking to him for about two minutes, I felt like I knew him forever. He was sweet and fun and the most fantastic cook! The place was clean, cozy and Tony and John were the best hosts ~ Tony went out of his way explaining about the area, places to eat and shop and giving us directions, and when we came in at night he had a plate of Italian pine nut cookies waiting for us (I still need that recipe!!) We chatted about our kids and where we grew up, work, etc. and by the time we left we felt like we had made a new friend. Would we go back??? In a hearbeat, the breakfasts were to die for and the place was so nicely done. Don't hesitate, this one is hard to beat!!!!

Room Tip: We slept in the pool room - with the jacuzzi tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at John Morris this past weekend. We were traveling with our 8 month old boy and I must say that the rooms are amazing soundproof. We called ahead to get the okay to bring our baby as many bed and breakfasts do not want children. Please always ask about children policy when making a reservation at a B&B as a crying baby can dampen a romantic weekend for other guests. Your hosts will generally know if it will be okay with other guests to have a little one around.

Both Tony (whom we had more interaction with) and John were friendly and quite helpful. They guided us toward good food, fun wine and delicious goat cheese. There were menus for local restaurants and they had printed directions from their place to various restaurants. Tony even entertained our little boy so my husband and I could eat breakfast at the SAME time on our last day as there were no other guests (so do not expect this but it was a very welcome bonus for us). The breakfast was great as well. One morning we had a strata (I had never had this before and really liked it) and another day was bacon and pancakes. Based on the food alone, I would recommend this B&B.

The house itself is quite comfortable and kept clean (not full of spiderwebs as some B&Bs are). We were in the Morris room which had plenty of space for our pack-n-play and other baby whatnot. And the shared bathroom is HUGE. One day of our stay was rainy, so we spent the late afternoon and evening in the parlor, ordered a pizza and relaxed. It was perfect for us.
And the dogs are very friendly and nice to pet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was the most unpleasant stay in over 30 years of going to B&Bs. The main host was completely unfriendly to us from the minute of our arrival. The first words spoken --in a nasty voice-- out of the host's mouth when I went to the kitchen for an early cup of coffee was "It's not done yet!" and then he very reluctantly "allowed" me to have coffee from the pot he brewed for himself. I truly felt that I had to slink around the place and try to avoid the host for fear of getting a nasty comment or reply to any question I might have. I thought B&B hosts are supposed to be friendly and accommodating to their guests, not be nasty and negative and basically unwilling to help meet their guests' needs.



The grounds outside were lovely but the common areas and rooms have are way past their prime. Grey and drab.



And watch out because there is NO WIFI, so no internet. (To which our host added why would we want need internet)...It made it impossible to check restaurant reviews or to find and map out routes for our bike rides.

All in all the our stay at this B&B ruined what was otherwise a beautiful early fall weekend in the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
2.4 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
335 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2138 State Route 89, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-8508
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Morris Manor is a full-service Bed & Breakfast in Seneca Falls, NY. Situated atop a secluded hill on 5.7 Acres of spectacular natural beauty, the house is located on Cayuga Lake Wine Trail. Our comfortable lodgings are available to guests year round and we welcome functions and groups of all kinds into our comfy space. Our B&B features five spacious, furnished guest bedrooms, three with private baths and two with a shared bath. Among our many amenities are fresh baked cookies served daily along with our famous breakfast treats. During the summer, you are free to lounge by our large pool. In the winter, you might find our den with cozy fireplace a charming respite. The Manor also features two bedrooms in the west wing that have been designed as pet friendly for dogs and their well-behaved owners. Nestled between the north ends of Seneca and Cayuga Lakes, our area is known as the "gateway" to the Finger Lakes region. We are right on the wine trail and are close to other attractions like cheese farms, distilleries, local microbreweries, premium outlet shopping, and a wildlife refuge perfect for birdwatchers and nature lovers of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Morris Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing