We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!!!”

The Restaurant at the Gould Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Like the Hotel Clarence, this restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The hotel was a stopover for us as we made our way back to Connecticut from Toronto and Niagara Falls. We had been on the road all day and we were tired. We didn't want to try to find a decent meal so we decided to just eat at the hotel. Like with the hotel, this was a great decision. We started out with Vesper Martinis, then salads: Strawberry & Local Bleu Cheese and Beet & Local Goat Cheese Salads. Our entrees were Duck Two Ways and the Spicy Penne Pasta. Both were excellent. Coffees and dessert followed as well as a continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A great restaurant -- well worth a special trip”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was outstanding -- I had the ribs, and have never had better -- tender without being mushy, beautifully smoked, and slow-cooked with a rub, which yielded a delicious coating. The wait staff is very capable, friendly and accommodating -- arranged a substitute of goat cheese for blue cheese on the salad -- outstanding!. The decor elegant and unpretentious. Casual dress definitely ok. A perfect experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank liketotravelBethlehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat in Seneca Falls.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The B&B keeper recommended this place. We were cheerfully greeted and the waitress was attentive to our request for a vegetarian pasta dish. She ended up recommending the gnocchi which was pretty good (for those who like gnocchi). I had the crab cake sandwich, which was delicious! Lots of lump crab, well seasoned, was much like one I had in Maryland once. I also had a house salad with a yummy strawberry vinagarette. We had the "pama" mojito which was tasty but a little light on the rum for the $7 charge.Overall we enjoyed our eating experience here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferFray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best in the area”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was looking for a good place to eat in the Seneca Falls area. That is easier said then done. Everyone had good things to say about this restaurant along with the words "pricey." I guess for that area it would be considered pricey, but they have a 'tavern menu' that was very reasonable and the main menu was average price for a more upscale restaurant. The food was really good. Compared to all of the other places in the area is was nearly excellent. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for good food and something other than fried bar food although they have that too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The evening was to be just a quick dinner, as we had driven much of the day and were tired. Dinner turned into a lovely event which started with their to-die-for bread basket. The pizza, duck and fish were all wonderful. Waiter was a nice young man who knew the area well and gave good advice....his name escapes me, but he had short red hair.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rokalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at the Gould Hotel also viewed

 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Restaurant at the Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing