We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable on a Rainy Night”

The Restaurant at the Gould Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable on a Rainy Night”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Service was thoughtful and the food was carefully prepared, the lobster pasta was loaded with delicious New England lobster and the salads were quite interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Food!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our dining experience here was very good. The waiter was knowledgeable and very attentive. I had the lobster/pasta dish and my mom had the filet. The food was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sldingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good dining experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Living in Seneca Falls, we had only eaten at the Clarence a few times. On those occasions, I thought it was OK, but over-priced for what we had to eat.
One Saturday night in March 2013, we saw a $14.00 prime rib special, and we decided to give it another try. It turned out to be a very good meal. There were about ten other people in the restaurant at about 6:30 p.m. The waitress was very professional and attentive, the prime rib was perfectly cooked, and large enough to make a very satisfying meal. There was also an $18.00 larger cut, but the smaller one was plenty. We had calimari for an appetizer, which was lightly breaded and very tasty. The only negative were the Duchess potatoes, which were slightly dry and lukewarm.
Desert was very good, homemade at the hotel. Coffee was also very good.
The rest of the menu looked interesting and on another stop we will probably try something different.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Awkward”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my wife were in town for some business and stumbled upon this place on accident. The menu looked great! But boy were we surprised by everything else. The place was empty @ 1 in the afternoon. We sat down anyways because we were starving. I got the "Big Mike Burger" and my wife got the Turkey sandwich. Both were very good but put together pretty sloppy. Our server was nice but seemed very inexperienced. It was sooooo quite it felt like you couldn't talk. LOL Apparently this place doubles as a hotel? Just seemed like a bunch of employees walking around talking. If we didn't walk into the door because we thought it was a museum, we would of never thought this place was open as hotel/restaurant. Just an awkward experience and really doesn't fit in with rest of town. Next time in the area I think we will walk past the museum door!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polyscracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martville, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous food! Worth the trip wherever you come from”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The lobster, mushroom risotto and complimentary Bananas Foster were all excellent. The staff was friendly and efficient, we loved our dinner!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy14326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at the Gould Hotel also viewed

 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Restaurant at the Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing