We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrister's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seneca Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrister's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Seneca Falls B&B and Inns
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Lovely home, Ken's delicious farm fresh breakfasts from scratch and wonderful conversations with the unique guests from all over the world. Ken and Diane are warm and friendly innkeepers. Our room was very clean, comfortable and decorated beautifully. Diane knowledge of the area was very helpful and even presented us with coupons for some of the nearby wineries and attractions.

Barbara

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
116
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiffin, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We came to the Finger Lakes area to attend a wedding and while traveling we prefer to stay in B&Bs. It was our good fortune to stay at Barrister's. The room was great, the food delicious, and the dining table conversations top notch. Ken and Diane each add to the unique character that is Barrister's - Diane with her conversations and Ken with his selection and preparation of the breakfast meals. Selection and preparation of the food was outstanding. If we are ever remotely close to this area again, Barrister's will be our choice to stay. john & joan s

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johns791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

It was one Our most Pleasent stay at a Bed & Breakfast or Auberge in the United States and Canada. Ken and Diane were very Friendly and accommodating with a great knowledge of the Area, especially the Wineries and Local Restaurants. If you are Lucky they may even have Discount Coupons for some of the Attractions. We found that Grandma's Rooms was well kept and madeup every day during Our Three day stay,while Celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary. The Breafast were amazing, You won't need Lunch. We enjoyed Our stay and wish to Thank Ken & Diane for their Great Hospitality.

Ernie & Colette Bisaillon
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

an outstanding B and B on every count. We were attending a wedding in the area, and our stay at Barrister's was as memorable as the wedding. Diane kept the conversation going at the long dining table and served the breakfast dishes that Ken prepared—local, farm fresh, and simply outstanding. They put as much thought into the food they prepare as into the service they offer their guests. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

While the weather was rainy (it is Central New York!), the McConnells made you forget the weather and enjoy the many great wine tastings, restaurants and sights of the Seneca Falls area. They had great coupons for free wine tastings at all the best wineries (and there are dozens, if not hundreds in the area). The breakfasts prepared by Ken were always "semi-gourmet" with an emphasis on fresh fruits and local foods. With such a fulfilling meal under your belt, a late lunch at a local venue was all that was needed for the day's sustenance. We enjoyed "Edie's Room" with a nice sitting room where you could stretch out on a comfortable couch. Adjoining was a room with a whirlpool that, if you are traveling with friends, could be opened and all could enjoy the sitting room. The property is immaculate and the clientel very interesting. Diane was always full of suggestions and stories about the sights. If you are a people person, this B&B is an excellent choice. PS you are right by the "It's a Wonderful World" house as well as walking distance to museums.

Room Tip: Edie's Room has a nice sitting area. They have 2 rooms with whirlpools, but reserve early as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the Barrister August 20, 2011-August 22, 2011. Ken and Diane were great. They made us feel right at home. Ken prepares an amazing breakfast and Diane's deserts are wonderful. They are very accommodating. We had to leave early to catch our flight and they made sure we still got breakfast. The room was great and the house is beautiful. Scott and Jeff

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvthetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Really super friendly from the first phone call. Very helpful with local info, wineries, etc. Very good breakfasts and nighttime treats. Even though I'm not very extroverted, it was nice to mingle with other B&B visitors over breakfast to discuss tourist tips and where everyone was from. Breakfast is normally 8.30 I think but they were very happy to have at 9am the second day (and even if you wander down a bit late that was ok too). I had a big wipeout in the rain on their wet front path (no injuries and my fault) and she very kindly offered to wash up my muddy outfit the same moment (this was even before we checked in!) We stayed in the yellow rose room which was large and beautiful with its stained glass and very bright. I thought I wouldn't be able to sleep in with all the light but this was no issues especially with the very comfortable beds. Note, it is in the front of the house and has a lot of road traffic. They say no one has ever complained but I am sensitive to noise but with ear plugs it was no issue. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank American-in-LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
0.4 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
2.1 mi away
John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrister's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrister's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Barrister's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 56 Cayuga St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrister’s Bed & Breakfast is a stately village inn located in New York’s Finger Lakes Wine Region. It’s the perfect location to anchor your visit, whether you’re here for wine tasting, golfing, shopping, touring storied historical sites, or simply enjoying a restful romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing