We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!!!!”
Review of The Gould Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gould Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed in a suite, absolutely gorgeous. Divine restaurant was exactly that, delicious and not over priced in the slightest. Bar was fun and the decor of the whole place was stunning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EnglishRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for The Gould Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

Great little get away mid winter. We stayed at the Clarence, and hit the ski slopes of Bristol only about 45 minutes away.

The hotel is nice and quiet - in a nice quiet town. Parking was ample. The biggest thing was the rooms was so quiet. Hotels these days with the paper thin walls are noisy - and you can hear the noisy neighbours or TV. This place - the walls were thick. Super quiet - didn't even know you had neighbours.

The restaurant was pretty good. I had a great lobster tail. The BBQ offerings were good. My only complaint would be that all the deserts had alcohol in them - I'm allergic. The cheese & wine in the room was a nice touch.

I'd like to visit in the summer - I bet it would be pretty nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennyskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

What a disappointment! Unless you get a suite, the rooms are nothing to write home about and the food at the restaurant was terrbile. The $9/pp buffet was nothing more than cereal boxes and a hot plate of overcooked eggs and bacon, and dinner at the infamous Divine restaurant was so disappointing and overpriced. My husband and I got lobster and shrimp and somehow they both had been cooked to the point of having no flavor whatsoever. Save a load of money and delight your tastebuds by going to Jeremy's Cafe down the street. We noticed other hotel guests made the same decision as we did by frequenting that tiny hole in the wall diner rather than the hyped up and disappointing Divine Restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessineuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Clarence in February 2011. The room was clean and beautifully decorated. The room was cold on arriving but we adusted the temperature so that it was perfect. The staff was very helpful. Our room had a king size bed with clean fresh bedding/ duvet and had amenities such as ipod docking station, full cable tv, high speed wi fi, coffee maker, iron/ board, fluffy robe. Only thing missing were slippers since the floors are hardwood. Our package included a bottle of very nice red wine and a cheese platter as well as a voucher for dinner. We stayed two nights, had a fabulous dinner at the Divine Restaurant. The prices at the restaurant were very reasonable and the service was great. We went on a tour of the local wineries, shopping and heard live music on Saturday night at a little pub within walking distance (Bull Tavern). Overall it was a good experience and an enoyable weekend away from the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

LOVED our stay at the Hotel Clarence. Sleepy town in the off season, but found tons to do including the fabulous Seneca wine trail. A short walk down the road at night got us to a local pub-Jeremy's Place- for a fantastic night of drinking and pool with the very friendly locals..it made me feel like an undergrad again:-)
I've stayed in many boutique hotels in major cities, and this one rates equally, if not better than a lot of them.
We enjoyed chatting with other guests, and the bartender, Conner, at the hotel bar. The hotel restaurant was top notch as well, the food was delicious. We would have liked to see a few more young couples (there were a few, just not many), but you can't have it all!
Also, if you like old buildings/towns, exploring Seneca Falls, Waterloo, Geneva etc is a must, our heads were like swivels looking at the reminders of day's past. It's like people watching, but for buildings and homes!
We left wanting more, and that's why we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The Hotel Clarence is trying.. trying.. trying, but falls short. They seem understaffed, and to echo several other reviewers, the customer service really needs work. I stayed here with my boyfriend in December 2010, and was excited to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city for some relaxation in a charming hotel. However, accessing any of the amenities which should be commonplace in a hotel was a huge process.. the hotel only had 1 person working, and not only was the nighttime receptionist (a teenage girl) quite rude-- we had to go to the front desk every time we needed something (milk for coffee, ice, extra towel, etc.)!!! The robes were a great inclusion, but mine had a stain on it! And the room was ffffrrreeeeezzzzziiinnnnggg the whole time.

On the plus side, the beds are huge and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is pretty great. Try the filet mignon and the calamari.

The Hotel Clarence is a small-town operation trying to be big-city classy: unfortunately, they need a little more training in hospitality management and customer service before they can arrive there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellight23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We had been to the Divine Bar & Restaurant for dinner and drinks before, and were not disappointed. My wife booked a room for us on this return visit, which was on my birthday weekend. The room was beautiful, a monochromatic palette with a splash of purple, a king sized bed, and HD flat screen. Huge bathroom, fluffy robes, and hardwood floors. Our package was designed for foodies, and included a bottle of local wine, a fruit and cheese tray, and a coupon for dinner. All together, the entire package was less than we would have spent if we stayed near an airport and ate at a chain restaurant. A nice little gem between Syracuse and Rochester.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyKim9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
652 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
9.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
4.7 mi away
Del Lago Resort & Casino
Del Lago Resort & Casino
#1 of 3 in Waterloo
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gould Hotel

Address: 108 Fall St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1472
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Price Range: $132 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gould Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gould Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing