We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gould Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gould Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great place to stay....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and each time we comment on how quaint this sleepy little town is and what a surprise it is to find such a nice hotel in a small town. There are many bed and breakfasts in the area but if you want privacy...a really ( and I mean really) comfortable bed...access to a beautiful bar and restaurant and great proximity to wineries then you should stay here! On our most recent trip here we hit a couple of snags and the assistant manager Jimmy made sure to not only correct them but he went above and beyond to make us happy. Now that is customer service! We live in Boston but travel here to visit the wineries about 2 to 3 times a year. We will continue to visit Hotel Clarence and would recommend it to anyone staying in this area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindymarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    113
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
47
176
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We. four guys stayed at Clarence Hotel for 1 night on way to PGA Championship in Rochester. The Hotel was recently refurbished - to a high standard. Great beds, great showers, lovely fluffy towels, Wi-Fi that worked. First rate experience.

Staff was also first rate. When we talked about going into to Rochester, the front desk printed out directions - unasked. That kind of service gets high 5's. The rest of staff were also very helpful - in finding other restaurants, local attractions, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I never chose this hotel,it was chosen for me on a Corporate visit to a local manufacturing plant. The rooms are small, but have everything you need. The bed is probably the most comfortable that I have ever slept on. There is no safe in the room which is a downer for me, but in this little town I doubt there is any risk anyway. Staff were supremely attentive, the food in the restaurant is magnificent and reasonably priced, by Western Australian standards anyway, The bar has a couple of dozen boutique beers on tap at about 5 bucks a pop. Try getting either the quantity,quality or that price at anywhere in capital city, let alone in a country town in Oz. People, we are being seriously short changed in Australia when there are places like this in the world to stay at. If in the area do it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buggeritwillthisdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Clarence is a recently restored older hotel in downtown Seneca Falls. The setting is nice, and there are some decent casual restaurants nearby. However, the Clarence is going for what I guess is "Euro Modern" and the hallways are finished in an almost Sci-Fi Industrial look. The rooms are stark and missing such normal things as a desk lamp, and decent shelf space in the bathroom. There is hardly a flat surface to put your shaving kit on in the bathroom. Room lighting is only adequate, and lack of carpeting in the rooms makes it feel even more cold. The continental breakfast was really basic, and we opted to find a local diner. On the positive side the place is very clean, and the location is nice, and better than being out at the exit ramp. Overall, boutique hotels can charge more for the experience, but should at least offer the functionality of a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upfrontguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We traveled this past weekend to Seneca Falls for a wine getaway. We found the Hotel Clarence via trip advisor and decided to give it a try. The room was extremely clean, updated, and the bed was the absolutely the comfiest ever! We can't wait to return, and having such a wonderful place to stay made our trip perfect! Definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for a little mini getaway for the wife and I. The room was very clean and updated. The bed was extremely comfortable as well. The in house restaurant was excellent and we received great service! We did the shop and stay package so we received gift cards to the premium outlets with the room. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinger82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel Clarence does two things well. 1) Provide an exceptionally clean/crisp room, and 2) provide a comfortable bed. Those are two very important things when traveling! The room had hardwood floors, one queen-size bed, one nightstand, a modern desk & chair, and one very white bathroom. All those are good! The bathroom had clean white subway tile in the shower and clean, non-stained towels. I point all this out because, I believe, that's the image they're going for. The hotel had left directions for how to use the TV, AC/Heat, Ipod Clock/Radio, and the Kuerig Coffee Maker. The complementary WiFi worked flawlessly.

My only comment/complaints might be that it the room was so minimalist that it lacked a couple of things that I would have wanted: a nightstand next to the OTHER side of the bed, a small refrigerator that is almost ubiquitous in many boutique hotels, more bathroom towel hooks (there was one) and a second bar of soap. (i supposed we could have asked for that!). There are no lamps in the rooms so they rely on overhead lighting for everything, including bed(side) lighting. The shades didn't really keep the light out in the morning either. I did appreciate the fact that there weren't unnecessary Wyeth prints on the wall too; just a big beautiful mirror.

The hotel is in the downtown area - close to the Women's Museum, the canal, and a self-guided walking tour of many famous homes. The famous "Bedford Falls" bridge is there, but not anything terribly special. The same for the 'Sculpture Park'. Not so much.

Food places are close by - Nonnies for cappuccino in the morning is a must. Parkers was good pub food (exceptional onion rings!), and there is a hot dog place across from the hotel open until 3AM. The hotel food was good - we ate in the bar one night.

It's apparent that the town is trying to rebuild/re-purpose itself. There are many closed factory buildings near the canal. Hotel Clarence was in the midst of sprucing-up the exterior with re-pointing and painting the brick.

Room Tip: Although the back side of the hotel only offers views of the parking lot, that might be better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
9.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
10.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gould Hotel

Property: The Gould Hotel
Address: 108 Fall St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1472
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gould Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gould Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing