We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls(Seneca Falls)(Great Value!)
$122
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Motel(Seneca Falls)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$168
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
197
133
41
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
133
41
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelfront deskhigh ceilingshardwood floorsbar and restaurantfinger lakesqueen suitecontinental breakfaststreet noisekeurig coffee makerbeautiful hotelsconesgreat dinnerscallopswomen's rightsyogurthistoric building
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 402 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was very charming with a nice look of the area. The price seemed steep for the region. The breakfast and the friendliness of the staff were both a big plus. The location is good although there is not much to see in this picturesque little town. We were here for a wedding. The nearby Waterloo outlets were excellent. There was no pool so accidentally I clicked the wrong button there.. Sorry! I was looking for NA!

Room Tip: Rooms can be tight... Ask for one with the little living areas.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband turned 40 and I suddenly realized although he has a big fishing trip planned to celebrate we had nothing to do on the actual date. We decided to spend one night in the Finger Lakes wine country (we're from Skaneateles so it was a quick trip). Of course this was 2 weeks before the date and every where I called was booked (Aurora Inn; Mirbeau; Belhurst Castle, etc.). I nearly gave up when a friend suggested the Hotel Clarence, she hadn't stayed there but had eaten there and thought it would be okay. It was only $200 for the night, much less than anywhere else we had called and we decided to chance it and go. After reading the reviews I was wary but the place was great. We checked right in, the room was nice the decor was fun. Yes, there is nothing to do in Seneca Falls, duh, not the fault of the hotel.The bathroom was fantastic, lots of room and nicely decorated. We were very happy with the room for the price and we've stayed in nicer places, but payed over a hundred dollars more. It's no resort or 4 star place but I think anyone could be happy there for a stay, the bed was super comfy and the staff was friendly and accomodating. We'd stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: The suites have more room than the regular rooms and don't cost much more!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2EatInSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The room was immaculate, quite spartan with only one chair, if there ' s 2 of you ... One has to sit on the bed. The bed was comfortable, quite high off the floor ..... Should have provided a small step stool to climb up on to the bed. Bathroom was spacious and very clean. The room had a European feel, high ceilings, lots of mirrors and sparse.

The person at the front desk was pleasant but a bit confused about the signing in process. We went to the bar, which was quite nice and ordered a late afternoon snack in lieu of lunch. The pizza was tepid and not great. Kind of made up our mind not to have dinner there since we were not impressed with the food, so far. That continued with the Continental breakfast in the morning.
It's a shame the culinary efforts didn't live up to the ambiance the hotel tried t o create. This hotel would have been great in a high traffic area where perhaps more visitors would have urged the hotel folks to invest in their kitchen output.

Senaca falls was a reminder of quaint town but everything was either closed or out of business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hightechgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We made our reservations at Clarence in order to be in the downtown Seneca Falls area--an area known for its women's rights and abolitionist history, as well as possibly being the site upon which "It's A Wonderful Life" is based. We were looking forward to a quaint, romantic weekend and found ourselves in an oddly-modern Manhattan-esque (or maybe more Berlin-esque) hotel. The decor is clean and attractive, but cold and stark--built in whites, greys, and some dark red accents. The movie "It's A Wonderful Life" is playing continuously on a stark white wall by the front desk. The effect? Well, I never thought that "It's A Wonderful Life" could be creepy, but it is. The only part of the hotel that seemed fitting to the area is the wonderful wood bar... but we never saw anyone there. After a 6.2 million dollar renovation, this hotel was a heartbreaker. Who thought that this design would fit in Seneca Falls, NY? And sadly, we don't seem to be the only people who think this. The hotel seems to be down to skeleton staff--we never saw more than three people at once on the premises. (We had great fun joking that the chef would be up soon to clean our rooms). Breakfast was included, but was a disaster-- cold coffee, music skipping on the cd, and refills of the trays coming at 10 minutes before breakfast closed. (Again, we joked that the chef was busy answering phone calls and cleaning rooms). But seriously, who can't do hot coffee in the morning!?!? Even gas stations manage this. It feels like kicking a man who's down to write this review, but then again, who would ever think that a brushed stainless headboard (continuing up to and across the ceiling) was a good choice for historic upstate, NY? Maybe that man deserves a good kick... When you go on a romantic getaway weekend, you hope you'll choose a place to which you can return year after year. Sadly, however, we don't expect to see "Clarence" around for more than another few months. :( Only the dark humor of it made the hotel part of a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Wonderful robes come with the rooms, but watch out! One of our robe ties was hilariously short, and my spouse started the weekend with the fear that he'd become unusually obese without noticing it. One of the robes had ties that barely touched around an average adult middle, while the other one had a tie of a normal length. What's up with that???
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband picked this restaurant for a one night stop on our way from New York to Toronto and it was a real find. From making the booking till we left they were very helpful. The room was amazing and the bed extremely comfortable. It is definitely unique and worth considering if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews