We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls(Seneca Falls)(Great Value!)
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Motel(Seneca Falls)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$93
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$378
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
197
133
41
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
133
41
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelfront deskhigh ceilingshardwood floorsbar and restaurantfinger lakesqueen suitecontinental breakfaststreet noisekeurig coffee makerbeautiful hotelsconesgreat dinnerscallopswomen's rightsyogurthistoric building
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 402 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The room was immaculate, quite spartan with only one chair, if there ' s 2 of you ... One has to sit on the bed. The bed was comfortable, quite high off the floor ..... Should have provided a small step stool to climb up on to the bed. Bathroom was spacious and very clean. The room had a European feel, high ceilings, lots of mirrors and sparse.

The person at the front desk was pleasant but a bit confused about the signing in process. We went to the bar, which was quite nice and ordered a late afternoon snack in lieu of lunch. The pizza was tepid and not great. Kind of made up our mind not to have dinner there since we were not impressed with the food, so far. That continued with the Continental breakfast in the morning.
It's a shame the culinary efforts didn't live up to the ambiance the hotel tried t o create. This hotel would have been great in a high traffic area where perhaps more visitors would have urged the hotel folks to invest in their kitchen output.

Senaca falls was a reminder of quaint town but everything was either closed or out of business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hightechgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We made our reservations at Clarence in order to be in the downtown Seneca Falls area--an area known for its women's rights and abolitionist history, as well as possibly being the site upon which "It's A Wonderful Life" is based. We were looking forward to a quaint, romantic weekend and found ourselves in an oddly-modern Manhattan-esque (or maybe more Berlin-esque) hotel. The decor is clean and attractive, but cold and stark--built in whites, greys, and some dark red accents. The movie "It's A Wonderful Life" is playing continuously on a stark white wall by the front desk. The effect? Well, I never thought that "It's A Wonderful Life" could be creepy, but it is. The only part of the hotel that seemed fitting to the area is the wonderful wood bar... but we never saw anyone there. After a 6.2 million dollar renovation, this hotel was a heartbreaker. Who thought that this design would fit in Seneca Falls, NY? And sadly, we don't seem to be the only people who think this. The hotel seems to be down to skeleton staff--we never saw more than three people at once on the premises. (We had great fun joking that the chef would be up soon to clean our rooms). Breakfast was included, but was a disaster-- cold coffee, music skipping on the cd, and refills of the trays coming at 10 minutes before breakfast closed. (Again, we joked that the chef was busy answering phone calls and cleaning rooms). But seriously, who can't do hot coffee in the morning!?!? Even gas stations manage this. It feels like kicking a man who's down to write this review, but then again, who would ever think that a brushed stainless headboard (continuing up to and across the ceiling) was a good choice for historic upstate, NY? Maybe that man deserves a good kick... When you go on a romantic getaway weekend, you hope you'll choose a place to which you can return year after year. Sadly, however, we don't expect to see "Clarence" around for more than another few months. :( Only the dark humor of it made the hotel part of a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Wonderful robes come with the rooms, but watch out! One of our robe ties was hilariously short, and my spouse started the weekend with the fear that he'd become unusually obese without noticing it. One of the robes had ties that barely touched around an average adult middle, while the other one had a tie of a normal length. What's up with that???
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband picked this restaurant for a one night stop on our way from New York to Toronto and it was a real find. From making the booking till we left they were very helpful. The room was amazing and the bed extremely comfortable. It is definitely unique and worth considering if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Interesting....We visited the area from Ottawa for shopping at the Waterloo Outlet Mall. The hotel is a boutique hotel and overall our experience was very good.

We had a Queen Suite at the front of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper I highly recommend you ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the street oise which appears to continue all night long until dusk will bother you. The only other issue with the suite was the sticky floor. Unsure why or how but it was very sticky. The rest of the suite was clean, well laid out and the bed was awesome. Hotel staff are very helpful. We asked for another suite at the back of the hotel but was told no suites are at the back of the hotel (hmmmmm)....

We ate at the hotel restaurant both nights of our stay. The first night all four meals were amazing. Since it was so good we opted to try again the next evening as well in order to share some wine. Unfortunately, the second night was a complete 360 for three of us. Our meals were very very disappointing and almost inedible.

Our waitress who we had each night apologized and offered us free desserts. As we enjoyed our visit so much we wanted to ensure the Chef realized there was an issue in order to address the matter. He appeared very unsure of how to approach us but after working much of the room finally arrived at our table. When we pointed out the issues, he tended to agree. He did offer us 15% discount should we visit the restaurant should again in the future.

Our continental breakfast on Sunday was less than ideal....there was no juice, the toaster was not plugged in and there were no knives provided. When asked, the only person available did her best to accommodate. However, shortly, thereafter, she went to the front desk to complain about the situation (issue between responsibility of hotel vs restaurant) and we could hear the discussion without trying to listen. Obviously not very professional although clearly her heart was in the right place.

We arrived on Friday at 4 pm and left on Sunday at Noon and did not see a manager during our entire stay. That could explain some of the issues. A manager should always be front and centre even during the weekend.

Would we visit again, highly likely as we did enjoy our visit even with some of the issues.

However, there are other hotels being built near Waterloo Shopping. Hotel Clarence should listen up if they want to ensure they continue to receive guests.... The restaurant needs to nail each and every dish and clean the floors people.

By the way, its unclear why but the Hotel Bar and Restaurant close at 9/10 pm each night!

Overall, a positive stay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front of hotel if you are a light sleeper....Street noise is very disruptive all the way through dusk!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EclipseSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The rooms in the hotel are clean, comfortable and minimalist. The beds are the best part because you really feel like the princess and the pea when you lie on them. The free continental breakfast is not worth staying for. Dunkin donuts or burger king is a better idea. The bar looks great and has lots of specials. Most of the people who stay here are either visiting the wineries or the outlet mall. Close to both of those.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sillygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews