We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1938 in the scenic Finger Lakes region of New York, the refuge contains 7,068 acres for the resting, feeding and nesting habitat of waterfowl and other migratory birds.
Solon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was quite excited to visit here and we planned part of our trip specifically to travel around the northern side of the lake to come here. We weren't impressed with the drive through tour. Yes, we saw some birds including ducks and herons, but nothing more than we see in our own backyard. We also tried using the cell phone tour and it didn't work. Perhaps we would have seen more had the weather been better; the rain also prevented us from using any of the walking trails. If I was in the area again during nicer weather, I would give this place another shot, especially since it is free, but I probably won't be going out of my way to plan our trip around a visit here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luvs2Travel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    50
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwood
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not a summer trip”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The cell phone idea of stopping at certain spots sounded great but it didn't work.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hightechgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Osprey nest were amazing!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Going thru the park, you can't help noticing the huge Osprey nest on the electrical structures... Quite a site...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

What we saw was nice but did not expect the refuge to be right along side a major highway. Maybe a natural barrier can be created to enclose the preserve?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_and_Tom_at_ABI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Beautiful Walk”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I arrived too late to see very many birds...our fault! The area is very pretty and we did see some lovely birds in the Canal area. It's a lovely, peaceful place and you should take the time to visit, as early in the morning as possible. We enjoyed our visit here and the staff in the visitors center was very helpful and informative.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing