We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Men and Women are Created Equal--See Where That Idea Launched”

Women's Rights National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Women's Rights National Historical Park tells the story of the first Women's Rights Convention held in Seneca Falls, NY on July 19-20,1848.
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“All Men and Women are Created Equal--See Where That Idea Launched”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Its amazing to be able to stand in the very spot that a movement in history took off. In Seneca Falls, you get the chance to stand in several spots that qualify.

The Wesleyan Church that played host to the Women's Suffrage movement is in tact (after being a slew of things through the years--including a roller rink). There is a small museum with an incredible set of bronze statues to greet arriving visitors. Also close by is Elizabeth Cady Stanton Park, and her home, which is an open, free historical site.

For women, this should be hallowed ground, and for me it felt like it was. I was moved by the spaces, the informative National Parks ranger and the idea that what started there is still moving around the world.

This is a great place to visit, it is all free and I can't imagine a single girl scout, mother/daughter, or girls weekend that wouldn't be improved with the addition of the Women's Rights National Historic Park.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gothamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    80
    28
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, NY
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It may be cheesy, but this was the fulfillment of a childhood dream! I had always wanted to visit the Women's Rights National Historical Park and was looking forward to finally visiting on our upcoming trip to the Finger Lakes. Then the government shutdown happened, and I spent every day hopefully scanning the headlines for possible news of it reopening in time for our trip. It did reopen, and just in time! The historic site is actually made up of four different buildings, one of which (the M'Clintock house) is only open seasonally in the late spring and summer. The main Visitor's Center is open daily with a movie and self-guided exhibits, but the Wesleyan Chapel and the Elizabeth Cady Stanton house are only accessible by guided tour (of which there were 2 daily when we were there in October). We saw the movie first (an excellent overview of the period and the significance of Seneca Falls in the abolition and women's suffrage movements) and walked through the self-guided exhibits prior to joining a tour of the Wesleyan Chapel. The ranger who led the tour was very knowledgeable and engaging. It was truly inspiring to be inside the chapel and see the portions of the walls and roof that are original. My husband enjoyed speaking with the ranger after the presentation, and he was very friendly and helpful in answering questions about the building and the period. The museum shop was small, but had many interesting books and little souvenirs. We weren't able to do the Elizabeth Cady Stanton house on this visit, but hope to do it the next time we're in the area. Highly recommend this attraction! It certainly more than lived up to my childhood expectations!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Who knew that Seneca Falls was such a hot bed for Women's Rights? Wow. What a nice museum. A wonderful film on the women's rights movement and details on how/why it started there. The rangers were really great and informative. The bookstore didn't have a lot of choices, but I still managed to buy 3 books anyway!
We went to the museum the day after the government shutdown ended and all was just fine. The facility is spotless and the displays are really informative and well done.
I'd love to go again some day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank margaretj10813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilla, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Where It Began- Seneca Falls, New York”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

On your visit to Seneca Falls, New York make it a point to visit the Women's Rights National Park. Like all of the National Parks that I have visited across our country, this site presented an historical, educational, reverent perspective of the women and men at the forefront in improving the social status and awareness of women rights in the United States in the mid 1800's. Do not miss the 25 minute movie of the story Elizabeth Cady Stanton's role in the Women's Rights movement. Exhibits in the museum are well constructed and accompanied with concise historical information related to its theme. I believe that your visit will help you to get a good perspective of the social and political strides that women achieved in the 20th/21st century that were made possible by what happened at Seneca Falls in 1848.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A surprising "park"!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

When you think of the word "park", one probably thinks of grass, trees and space. This is not true of this national treasure. Housed in a historic building with a lovely walled grassy area and water wall, it really hits home as to how long women fought for equal rights in this country. Free entry to all with friendly staff. A great selection of books and other momentos for purchase. I picked up a great poster! The bronzes inside are fabulous. I thought I knew quite a bit about the Women's Rights Movement but found interesting and unknown facts to me during my visit. A must visit to see where we (woman) started yet still have more road to cover.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Women's Rights National Historical Park also viewed

 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Women's Rights National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing