We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great good”
Review of Bazin's on Church

Bazin's on Church
Reserve with OpenTable
Bazin's on Church is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 183 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Bazin's on Church offers a contemporary American menu featuring organic and seasonal ingredients. The wine bar features a collection of wonderful wines from around the world, with an emphasis on California. Bazin's recently received the 2014 Wine Spectator Award for Excellence. We have over 400 wines to choose from. Upon being diagnosed with Celiac Disease several years ago, Chef and Owner Patrick Bazin has created an entire gluten-free dining menu. Rather than modifying current dishes to meet dietary restrictions he has created fresh and innovative dishes to please everyone's palate. Whether you too have to modify your diet or just choose to follow the gluten free lifestyle you'll enjoy these changes to our menu.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice place great good”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food and service were excellent and I will return when I am in the area. There is an excellent well priced wine perspective.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank liveforwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    95
    39
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bazin's is always a treat”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've enjoyed this restaurant for lunch and dinner, but this weekend we took my in-laws, including my gluten-free mother-in-law, to dinner. Everyone enjoyed the excellent food, and mother-in-law was practically giddy with the gluten free offerings. The service was exceptional, and really, if you get a chance to try the beet and goat cheese salad, you shouldn't miss it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food but several this place has some issues.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The good...Good selection of entrees and appetizers. Half of the menu is gluten free. Our group of 4 had 3 fish entrees which were all excellent.

The not so good...It is a bit overpriced. Not because of the food, its the rest of the experience (read on). The pasta entree was overpriced for what it was.

Needs work...They were out of the wine we selected. We were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. The tables are close together which increases the noise level and hurts the ambience. These are symptoms of a restaurant trying to serve too many to boost profits. Some of the waitstaff was very inexperienced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 58SAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Four of us celebrated an anniversary and a birthday. Excellent food, excellent service, great atmosphere (although it is still a bit noisy).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAKedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner VA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Always up to Standard -- and now a big commitment to 'gluten-free'”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the third time we have been to Bazin's and I cannot even begin to understand the handful of negative reviews posted here. This is an upscale neighborhood place (emphatically not a 'sports bar' as some have asserted, although, yes, the local NFL game was on TV behind the bar) with upscale prices to match. It's not particularly romantic, and it is not elegant like, say, Bonaroti down the street, But it is fine neighborhood dining. This last time we went with friends who are gluten-free and so were delighted to find, essentially, two menus: a left column of GF dishes and a right column of regular plates. The lamb shank was terrific, and my veal milanese was so big I took half of it home. My wife's fish special was perfect, tender. As to service, at one point our friend made a passing reference to it being our anniversary -- I was not even aware the waiter had heard him! Yet dessert arrived with a lit candle and a taste sampling. If I were to be forced to nitpick, I would say that, given the restaurant's obvious commitment to GF offerings, that could show up in the breadbasket: GF rolls and bread mixes now are readily available. And it also is true that parking is a challenge at peak times: Church Street is a small but busy Vienna side street with limited spaces.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommyg2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazin's on Church also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Bazin's on Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing