We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, atmosphere, & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bazin's on Church

Bazin's on Church
Reserve with OpenTable
Bazin's on Church is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 179 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Bazin's on Church offers a contemporary American menu featuring organic and seasonal ingredients. The wine bar features a collection of wonderful wines from around the world, with an emphasis on California. Bazin's recently received the 2014 Wine Spectator Award for Excellence. We have over 400 wines to choose from. Upon being diagnosed with Celiac Disease several years ago, Chef and Owner Patrick Bazin has created an entire gluten-free dining menu. Rather than modifying current dishes to meet dietary restrictions he has created fresh and innovative dishes to please everyone's palate. Whether you too have to modify your diet or just choose to follow the gluten free lifestyle you'll enjoy these changes to our menu.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

First visit here ... and when I am visiting Northern Virginia again, will be back. Obviously a talented chef in the kitchen ... inventive specials, delicious menu entrees and appetizers. And a nod to the bartender who made a fine vodka martini! A tip for the mobility impaired - there is a parking garage with an elevator to the entrance level of the restaurant. And there is no charge. No valet parking and street parking in front is pretty much impossible - and we were there at 5 in the evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbtheBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    89
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've tried to get into this place a number of times and apparently they have two seatings and if you can get a spot at the bar then you are in luck. Anyway, I went with my best friend who is a snob (love you H!) and we originally sat at the bar but they got us a seat at the table. We ate and drank, had amazing service and food. There was not a single complaint. I think there was a piece of something inedible in one of my dishes and they came and took it away and took it off the bill and brought me something else. The waitress was knowledgeable about the food and the wine, brought us pours for us to try to make sure we liked. Really do love it and highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirriam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not to Be Missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Seafood dishes were outstanding, and we are very particular about our fish.. Lamb was good in a great reduction sauce and not fatty as in so many restaurants. Wine is typical price of a DC restaurant but a few bottles that would be bargains would be nice. Service was fine and waiter made good recommendations. Can get a little noisy but you can still hold a conversation. Lots of locals have made this one of their go-to restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tresdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a pre-show dinner for two adults and had a great time. The staff worked as a team, including the chef / owner (Patrick) who came out a couple times, and allowed us to never feel like we were waiting on just one person to help us if our waiter was busy. Atmosphere was very cozy - fits perfect for the old Vienna city in which it resides. We struck up a conversation with a long time customer who just raved about the place - it is that kind of feel in the place where you are comfortable talking to folks around you, very cordial.
I had the lamb - best I ever had. Portions are moderate, I'm a big eater and didn't leave hungry...but not stuffed either. Sides that came with it were simple and not distracting from the lamb. Dessert was some homemade concoction - forget the name, but their own version of a kind of candy bar (delicious). Wine selection was large and included options that were not crazy expensive, but they have those as well.
We're already planning on going back with friends but this time will visit the sister restaurant next door for happy hour and then return to Bazin's for dinner. Can also see bringing our kids as well, although I don't recall a kids menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidJustDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst V-Day Dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was flat out one of my worst dining experiences. We went on V-Day and the waiter basically checked out when he told him we wouldn't be ordering any liquor. When we told the waiter we didn't want any alcohol, he didn't even ask if we wanted something else. We also asked several times for bread before it was finally served. To make it worse, the waiter RARELY ever came by to check on us, although he paid close attention to the table right next to us, which bought a substantial amount of wine. He walked by our table on several occasions to attend them, but failed to attend to us. He even walked by several times without picking up my plate . They also crammed as many tables in as physically possible, detracting from the romance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazin's on Church also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Bazin's on Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing