We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best French Restaurant in Vienna area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Renaissance

Cafe Renaissance
163 Glyndon St., Vienna, VA 22180
703-938-3311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Renaissance is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 165 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best French Restaurant in Vienna area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our favorite French restaurant since Le Canard was sold/ changed name. Just wish that Renaissance would add duck dishes to their menu. Owner told me he would consider my request.

It is in a shopping center in the heart of Vienna with plenty of parking.

Our latest dining experience was very nice. I had the french onion soup (good), house salad (excellent tender greens), and stuffed flounder (very good). My wife had a mussels appetizer (fantastic) and trout entre. My daughter and son-in-law had appetizers, entres, and shared the bananas foster. Wine-by-the-glass was reasonably priced.

The staff, starting from the owner host to the water guy, make this place above average. They are very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 617BobR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    27
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“A Secret Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered this lovely restaurant. Suggested by a friend and going with friends who live nearby we didn't know what to expect. What a Gem.. We entered and were greeted warmly by the owner. He made us feel like we had been going there for years.
The restaurants decor is very elegant with lovely art work on the walls.
The food was outstanding. Each of us order something different and all were pleased.
Make room for desert.

Service and the Food met our expectations and beyond. The chef visited with us as did the owner.

We would definitely come back here and bring friends and family for a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thisilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant in a strip center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were amazed to find that this restaurant has been around for more than 10 years and we hadn't heard about it. Everything was superb from the minute we entered until we finally could not eat or drink any more and left. The Owner greets you at the door and tells you how happy he is to see you while kissing the women's hands and reaching to shake the gentlemen's hands. No waiting to be seated, attentive service by the Captain who takes drink orders. A visit from the Sommelier who recommends a slightly pricey, but well-worth it wine. The Chef comes to the table to ask if there are any requests as to how the dish should be prepared. Several of the Staff stop by during the course of the meal to check on our satisfaction. Toward the end,the Owner comes by, pulls up a chair and orders Port and Bananas Foster for us on the house. What could have been better. We saw Staff doing this at many tables. A real gem of a place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank No1HoyaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The host was the owner and delightful as was my waiter who assured me the stuffed chicken was a good selection and suggested I also have a small salad. The salad and bread were good and I was sure I would enjoy the entree. My first clue something was wrong was when I moved the dish and it was very hot to the touch. As you can see it was a great presentation but the chicken clearly had not been cooked today. All the food was put on the plate and microwaved is my guess. The chicken was hard to chew. I didn't finish it. So sad because I was thinking it would be the perfect place for Christmas day dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneHikingAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First time to Cafe Renaissance and is now on our list to visit regularly. One of the best friendly little restaurants in the area. The staff, the ambience, the meal; everything was wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Renaissance also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cafe Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing