We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secret Gem”
Review of Cafe Renaissance

Cafe Renaissance
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Renaissance is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 179 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“A Secret Gem”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered this lovely restaurant. Suggested by a friend and going with friends who live nearby we didn't know what to expect. What a Gem.. We entered and were greeted warmly by the owner. He made us feel like we had been going there for years.
The restaurants decor is very elegant with lovely art work on the walls.
The food was outstanding. Each of us order something different and all were pleased.
Make room for desert.

Service and the Food met our expectations and beyond. The chef visited with us as did the owner.

We would definitely come back here and bring friends and family for a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thisilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    32
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant in a strip center”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were amazed to find that this restaurant has been around for more than 10 years and we hadn't heard about it. Everything was superb from the minute we entered until we finally could not eat or drink any more and left. The Owner greets you at the door and tells you how happy he is to see you while kissing the women's hands and reaching to shake the gentlemen's hands. No waiting to be seated, attentive service by the Captain who takes drink orders. A visit from the Sommelier who recommends a slightly pricey, but well-worth it wine. The Chef comes to the table to ask if there are any requests as to how the dish should be prepared. Several of the Staff stop by during the course of the meal to check on our satisfaction. Toward the end,the Owner comes by, pulls up a chair and orders Port and Bananas Foster for us on the house. What could have been better. We saw Staff doing this at many tables. A real gem of a place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank No1HoyaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The host was the owner and delightful as was my waiter who assured me the stuffed chicken was a good selection and suggested I also have a small salad. The salad and bread were good and I was sure I would enjoy the entree. My first clue something was wrong was when I moved the dish and it was very hot to the touch. As you can see it was a great presentation but the chicken clearly had not been cooked today. All the food was put on the plate and microwaved is my guess. The chicken was hard to chew. I didn't finish it. So sad because I was thinking it would be the perfect place for Christmas day dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneHikingAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First time to Cafe Renaissance and is now on our list to visit regularly. One of the best friendly little restaurants in the area. The staff, the ambience, the meal; everything was wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrysul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Last night was the first time we came to Cafe Renaissance. We came to celebrate my husband's birthday. What a wonderful experience we had! The food was not only excellent but it was presented beautifully. The menu was expansive and they had lots of specials. The Chef aimed to please and came table side to say that if we did not find what we wanted, he would make something special for us. I took him up on his offer and it was fabulous. A true culinary delight! From the daily specials to the regular menu, it was all terrific. The highlight was the table side preparation of an Irish Coffee that was pure art. Numerous dishes were served flambe from Bananas Foster to after dinner drinks.

The service was exceptional, attending to our every need. The owner was lovely and very appreciative of our patronage of his restaurant. He gave us complementary drinks and offered us a souffle on the house. We came in as strangers and left as family. I highly recommend the restaurant! We can not wait to return.

Add to Favorites

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelheretoyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Renaissance also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cafe Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing