We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“24hrs a day! Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Restaurant

Amphora Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 165 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Greek, Diner, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A local landmark in the DC metro area, Amphora Restaurant opened its doors to NOVA customers back in the early 1970's serving breakfast, lunch and dinner 24-7 using only the finest sourced ingredients and recipes made-from-scratch daily.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“24hrs a day! Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I have going here since 5 years with my Grandparents! I have transferred out of the area and will visit friends locally. Amphora had gone thru some changes over the years but still good. I always enjoy that the full menu is served 24 hrs to including desserts! This is a definitely a place I visit when local to Northern VA!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_Jill_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    68
    41
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“More than a diner, less than a fine restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hitting that middle zone this place has an extensive menu, good service and is a great place for authentic greek cuisine and excellent pies and cakes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Open 24/7 and serves breakfast all day.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I've been a patron of Amphora for about 7 years. They have some good things going for them and not so good things. I'll start with the good:
-Open 24/7
-Serves breakfast any time
-Extensive menu
-Awesome desserts
-Can accommodate large parties in a separate room

Now for the not so good:
:Expensive for what you get (ex. Club sandwich with 1 side $9.99, steak and eggs $13.99)
-Old decor, needs to be updated
-Waitstaff ALWAYS messes up order, or forgets items from your order (ex. Last night, my daughter wanted the kids pancakes, I asked if they could add a few chocolate chips to them, no problem. I asked for mashed potatoes with gravy instead of fries, no problem. When our order came out, there were no chocolate chips or gravy on my potatoes. The waiter corrected the pancakes, but it was 10 min. later when they came out. I also reminded him about the gravy, which he said he would go get, but it never came.).
-Slow service, don't expect to get in and out in under an hour.
-Food is mediocre, not bad but not great or unique.

In conclusion, I will continue to go here, just because it's convenient to my house and they do offer a menu that anyone can find something they can eat.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crissiet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Authentic Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Friendly diner with the traditional menu with a slightly mediterranean twist. The decor is dated but authentic. This is a great diner where you can partake in a meal alone or with friends and not feel rushed to leave. You are bound to find something on the menu that you will love.
Note, bring your own herbal tea bag if you don't like Lipton.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service at Amphora in Vienna, VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Visited Amphora today with a group of friends after a bike ride today in Vienna, VA and the service was truly excellent. From the front desk to our waiter to staff that stopped by our table to check on us, everyone was genuinely friendly and made our breakfast very enjoyable. A big thank you to the wonderful staff who truly seem to care about their customers. If you like friendly service, stop by Amphora for a meal soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hattrickchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphora Restaurant also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Amphora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing