We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wanted to order one of everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant

Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 179 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Middletown, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We wanted to order one of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We did order as much as we could fit on our table so we could take it home. Each dish was fantastic. The best part if going to Sunflower is the friendly service. Wish we could go there every day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VADogLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“delicious vegan dining at sunflower!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

we have been dining at sunflower for years - in Vienna first, but more often at the falls church location as of late. they have many delicious vegan options on the menu.

our favorites include the spinach wonton soup, general tso's surprise (specify vegan option), the vegetable lo mein, the kale and burdock, and the grilled vegetable salad.

the service is consistently friendly and the food is served without delay.

the desserts aren't to my taste here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maverickflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
224 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The Greatest Vegetarian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Ever since first trying Sunflower's ten years ago, I have been trying to find another vegetarian restaurant that is as good. I have tried in places as far away as Maine, but never found another vegetarian restaurant as good. Sunflower's is truly the gold standard of vegetarian food. My wife and I stop here anytime we are in Northern Virginia. My personal favorite dish is the Popeye's Favorite, and my wife likes the General Tso's. The wonton soup is fabulous. They always give you generous portions, and oftentimes they even offer you samples of other dishes. I complimented the staff one time on how good my meal was, and they gave me a second meal free to take home. The waitstaff is always friendly and helpful, and the food comes out quickly. I have nothing but good things to say about this restaurant. Try it and I am confident you will agree with me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sunset for Sunflower Vegetarian in Vienna”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have leaned toward a healthier vegetarian orientation with each passing month, so Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant's Vienna location was on our "to try" list having been to its Falls Church location previously. Regrettably, the "As Your Wish Garden" was so salty it was not edible, and the waiter's and kitchen's solution was to bring out a tasteless replacement with no basil/ginger sauce, and, of course, no apology. The eggplant and sun dried tomato dish was fine, but the mood was spoiled by a bad entree and inept, non-responsive service. We will not return to this location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnergyCounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Veggie Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been to Sunflower a number of times and been delighted on each occasion by the excellent food. The flavours and textures are amazing, so much so that I have no hesitation, as a non-vegeatrian, recommending this restaurant to everyone.

Although the cuisine is basically Chinese, it is a long way away from the tradition fried rice or chow miens we normally see. Most of the ingredients are organic, and vegetables are cooked to perfection. The sauces and spice are masterful blends that produce flavours that delight the palate.

The original Sunflower in Vienna has been joined by a second restaurant in Falls Church which has a different menu but is equally good, with the addition of wines and beers being available.

Their menus can be seen at http://crystalsunflower.com

Thoroughly recommended for veggies and non-veggies alike.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SorenTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing