We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarians/vegans in Northern VA have something special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant

Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 166 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vegetarians/vegans in Northern VA have something special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

While it is certainly no Millenium in San Francisco, Candle 79 or Blossom in NYC, Sunflower is a treat for vegetarians/vegans in the NOVA area. Its sort of Asian meets hippie with an emphasis on Asian-inspired foods but also a good dose of macrobiotic dishes and a hippie style decor. The soups are really good. Spinach wonton soup is delicious and the "Hot Hot Shabu Shabu" (yes that's really the name) is out of this world. Popeye's Favorite is a nice comfort food dish of potato patties with spinach and seitan in a brown "hot pepper gravy." Comes with a nice side of broccoli. Gluten free tiramisu was good, especially since I haven't had tiramisu for 20+ years. Tofu pumpkin pie is also really good. Lemon juice in the sauce over the pie gives it a balance and keeps the dish from being overly sweet. Go there. Now.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank delawaresteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Taiwan style vegetarian cuisine draws loyal patrons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Amazingly creative vegetarian dishes are adapted from Taiwan style Chinese dishes. Tofu in a variety of forms substitutes for meat and chicken, and does a good job of fooling the first-time diner. Brown rice is available and is my choice to accompany my entrees. The menu is extensive. It's advisable to get there early to beat the crowds, as this continues to be a very popular eatery.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favorite vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We live about 90 min away but always stop here when in the area. The food is always awesome. The wonton soup is amazing and I also love General Tso's. My husband always loves whatever he orders too. Highly recommend!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ravenrapunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another disappointing vegetarian restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I only had one dish at this restaurant, so this review has limited validity. I ordered the Amazing Mushroom Palate: mushrooms in Thai basil sauce. Service was amazingly fast, a matter of a very few minutes. The white button mushrooms in the dish were raw and therefore not very tasty. The shitake, enoki and other mushrooms were cooked, therefore tasty. There were true Thai basil (Grabow) leaves in the sauce, but the sauce did not taste of them; it was a tasteless, thin brown stock. I could, and do, make better using the stock recipe from 1000 Vegetarian Recipes. A vegetarian restaurant ought to get their basic sauce recipe into the savory level or ought to be able to augment it effectively. To their credit, I ordered the Avocado Lemon pie from the menu, but they were not offering it, as they explained, because they were having difficulty in getting good quality avocados. Good move, even if I was disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank satipatipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vegetarian even for a Carnivore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a must for your first venture into vegetarian if you are a carnivore. Just try their General Tso Chicken (yes its not chicken) and its better than any other real or not, in NVA if not the whole US. The menu is extensive and all the choices are a delicious surprise. Service is polite, fast and the place clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing