We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yama Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yama Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 166 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Sunday date night and Yama does not disappoint. Shared a fabulously delicious sushi and sashimi platter for two which came with a nice miso and salad. The plate was a great variety of rolls, and very fresh sushi. The evening was topped off with dessert, which we never have at Japanese restaurants, but the cheesecake tempura and red bean paste ice cream were simply delicious. If you are in the market for sushi, go here to this neighborhood gem

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spiegs1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good sushi in Northern Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were in the area looking for a good sushi restaurant. With help from Trip Advisor, we found Yama. Although the restaurant was full on a Saturday night, there was an open table for two and we were seated quickly. Their sushi was very fresh and the portions were very generous. They had a few sushi roll combos I had not seen before. I really liked the Tiger roll (soft shell crab and avocado topped with eel.) The server was very attentive. Not once did we need to waive her down. I will definitely visit Yama again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good sushi, unique specials!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our experience at Yama as visitors to the area. Obviously a local favorite, we had several waitresses attending to our table. The sushi is reasonably priced and very fresh. A couple of the rolls weren't what I expected, but overall a great choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is welcoming, has great service and wonderful food. The sushi was fresh and delicious. We enjoyed it so much we ordered more! Again, the service is great without hovering. We recently had a late lunch and were not rushed - simply asked if we needed anything additional since the kitchen was closing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Favorite Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

To be honest, I don't really want to write this review bc I don't want any more people to know how delicious and amazing this place is. It is the best sushi restaurant in northern VA hands down and one of the best in the entire DC area. The sushi is ALWAYS fresh, the portions are terrific and the prices are more than reasonable. The owner is super friendly and does his best to seat you at your reservation time but often that can be an issue on a Fri/Sat night. Plus there is no real place to wait when it gets busy so standing in the vestibule in close quarters with complete strangers can be quite awkward. I honestly have lost track of the number of times I've been here, it is that darn good!

Word of advice... it can get quite hot in the restaurant, don't dress in layers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Yama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing