We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how this place is still around”

Anita's Mexican Food
Ranked #120 of 181 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Falls Church, Va
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not sure how this place is still around”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Food here is flavorless and overpriced. There are a few Anita's in the area and I am genuinely shocked that people like it here. From start to finish my meal was below average. Bad chips and salsa, chicken fajitas tasted microwaved, slow service.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nads82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ate here last night - very good !”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We ate a late dinner here last evening just before closing -- everything was as expected. We eat here frequently, breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and never have a bad experience. It's breakfast menu includes both American style, typical breakfasts and Mexican-style breakfast: nice to be able to have this choice.

Last evening our food was very decent, the service was excellent, and the price was a fair value, especially given the high-cost of living in Vienna, VA. All in all, a decent experience, and we will return frequently.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Breakfast is what it is all about”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I lived in VA when I was in college many, many years ago and Anita's was great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Over the years business, friends and family bring me back to the area and most of the time I visit Anita's, however, I learned 7-8 years ago that the only reason to go is the breakfast burrito. The last few times I was there for anything other than breakfast it was pretty bad.
I had breakfast there this week and the burrito was great as always. Can't say much else about it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badbullgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“DownHomeMexican”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great authentic Mexican flavors...love the enchiladas and guacamole and the way it all feels home made.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent and unique, authentic food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The fact that Anita's has been successful in the area since the 70's is a testament to it's great food. Anita brought her authentic New Mexico Style recipes to the area (spicy with nicely textured and prepared sauces) and they are a treat hard to find within 2000 miles of here. At lunch time they have an express menu and bring the food out very quick so you can squeeze in a quick weekday lunch. There is a take-out area in the back which serves up their specialty "Breakfast Burritos" - two of which will keep you charged up all morning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anita's Mexican Food also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Anita's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing