We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Bonaroti

Ristorante Bonaroti
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Bonaroti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 176 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Street
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a phenomenal experience.

We didn't have a reservation and arrived around 6pm on a Saturday night. The hostess seemed a little huffy that we didn't have a reservation, but everything was perfect after we were seated (only took a few minutes to get a table). They set us back by the bar, and we had 2 waiters giving us bread, water, menus, and setting napkins on our laps within seconds. Just incredible.

I highly recommend you get whatever the waiter suggests, because we both got specials and didn't look back. I had the lobster ravioli, and my husband had a delicious chicken dish I can't remember.

The service, food, and ambiance can't be matched. I wished we lived closer because we would come all the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Always Excellent...But the Rib Eye Steak is THE BEST EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We go to Bonaroti's fairly often and always have a wonderful experience. The service is top notch and the staff genuinely want you to feel "taken care of".

Almost always, I will have pasta because it's homemade and so delicious. This night, however, I really wanted a steak so I ordered the rib eye. Oh My Goodness! It was the best steak I've had in a long time, if not ever! And, it was huge. This rib eye was seasoned perfectly, almost fork tender and presented with perfectly sautéed mushrooms. I enjoyed every single bite and had plenty to bring home and share with the kids! I asked for the mushroom linguine as my side so that I could still have a bite of pasta. We always start off with zucchini blossoms which are stuffed with ricotta and fried and delicious. Dessert is always delicious but I'm usually so full that I can only have a bite...so consider sharing.

Here's a tip: Bonaroti's has an extensive menu and an equally long list of specials. Rely on your waiter to guide you if you are undecided. They will make almost anything you ask for if it's within your their power. The atmosphere is old fashioned elegance. You feel special and at home all at the same time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OhJackieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Bonaroti used to be a favorite of ours, but we hadn't been for a while, until last week when we took our teenage daughters for a celebration dinner. Things have fallen badly. The decor looks tired, and the kitchen is failing.

One daughter had a ravioli in a cream sauce which was outstanding. However, my osso buco special was disappointing -- it was somewhat chewy and meaty like a young steer rather than veal. My other daughter's veal saltimbocca had been frozen, and my wife's eggplant parmigiana was soggy and tasteless. While some discrete elements of the dinner were excellent, the serious failings of three of our four entrees were unacceptable. There are better options in the area nowadays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Some dishes were good and a few failed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a friend reunion dinner here. Mussels were not fresh and fishes were thin, deep fried so dried and tasteless. Ravioli was super delicious and lamb chops were tender. The waiter was at tentative first and no water refills and it took forever for the bills to come. An average restaurant experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xiafei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Loved this Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had checked the reviews on Trip Advisor before we went, and so was a little worried about the service. But I really don't know what those reviewers were talking about. From the moment my husband and I arrived, we were treated so warmly. We were greeted by Stefano who was delightful. We were seated right away and our waiter Claros (hope I got that right) was also wonderful. We loved the food and the service and we want to go back again, next time we stay in the area. The atmosphere was casual, fun and romantic. The food was so so good. I love going to Italy, and truly, some of the food reminded me of being there like the way they served the buffalo mozzarella for instance. The entrees were also excellent, I had a Filet Mignon in a wonderful red wine sauce and my husband had the Veal scalloppini, which he raved about. Gracie Mille to Ristorante Bonaroti.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Bonaroti also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ristorante Bonaroti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing