We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Mexican”
Review of Bazins Next Door

Bazins Next Door
Ranked #58 of 183 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bazin's Next Door is the new Bazin concept restaurant that opened on Church Street in Vienna, VA on March 18, 2014. Located right next door to Bazin's on Church, Bazin's Next Door specializes in contemporary seasonal cuisine including pastas, Mexican varieties and American dishes.
Severn, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I ate here in August with my brothers and and sister-in-law. The restaurant is in an older building in old Vienna, the the W & OD trail. The parking isn't so good, especially on a Friday night. The restaurant itself was a bit warm - maybe the AC wasn't working properly? The food can best be described as "upscale Mexican". I had the mix and match tacos - pork confit, roasted portabello, and spicy shredded beef. They were all quite good. The homemade salsa was excellent, as are the margheritas. Reservations are a must, as the dining area is small. Would I eat here again - yes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come early or don't come at all”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

IF you come near [45 before] closing time - they will make you feel unwelcome - Typical "better than You" Vienna 'tude - the apps are the reason to go & go late, come too early and it's packed & VERY uncomfortable - regardless of what I say here, people will still come - What Vienna needs is some serious restaurant/bar competition

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCMaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Food is amazing... but don't go with a large party.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food and drinks are delish! You must try the Empanadas, they are amazing. The only issue is the restaurant is small, so it is hard to accomodate a large group of people. My friends and I had a reservation for 8 people and still ended up waiting an hour and 15 mins for a table.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachLover1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I am so stuffed”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went with 4 adults and 4 kids on a Wed night. Ordered 2 guacamole appetizers. Huge. The girls split the Summer Salad. Delicious. They split the nachos. Couldn't finish it. I dove in. Real meat. Excellent quality. I couldn't finish either. I had the Mahi Mahi special. Quite good. The former chef at our table thought the steak fajitas were the best she's tasted in quite some time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKBisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Duck carnitas to die for...but that's about it!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The small dining room is comfy (although the open kitchen isn't much to look at), and we got off to a good start, with tasty margaritas, warm tortilla chips with two sauces, and good appetizers--especially the Sopes de Duck Carnitas (small masa shells with BBQ duck confit). Mix-and-matching the Taco Trio, I ordered one pork and two fish tacos that were billed as "crispy" but weren't--and the pork was dry. After an hour-long wait for entrees, the server explained that they "only had one cook" that night, but with about a dozen tables, they should be able to handle a full house! Alegria can mean happiness or joy, but we were a bit ambivalent. I'd go back for the duck appetizer and a salad, though, washed down with a margarita. Now that's happiness!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazins Next Door also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Bazins Next Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing