We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ya Hala

Ya Hala
Ranked #90 of 176 Restaurants in Vienna
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a find. Who knew that hidden in a tiny shopping strip mall this little gem existed. My boss took my office there for a staff lunch and I was surprised at how delicious it was and what a good value it is. I'm not a huge salad eater but the salad dressing that was on the house salad was the best I've ever had. I got the chicken schwarmma (sp?) which came with your choice of 2 side dishes.

If you are looking for ambience, this isn't the place to go to, it's small and not fancy at all but with food this good...who cares! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Va.
1 review
“Excellent food, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I found this restaurant by chance, and it is awesome! It's too bad it's not visible from Maple Ave. It's directly behind the My Eye Dr. by Amphora. We ate in...not fancy, but very clean. They could use some Lebanese music to break up the quiet. I usually go for hummus over baba ghannouj, but OMG, the baba (on the appetizer sampler) was to die for! I took my Lebanese friend for lunch and she literally had tears in her eyes when she ate the grape leaves because they reminded her of her Aunt's, and no other Lebanese place has been so authentic. I'll be placing a catering order this month for a board function. If you like Lebanese food, you won't regret it. They also do a brisk take-out business from what I could see.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best for take out. Dessert from bakery next door was wonderful.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is not a place to eat in. Tiny setting, strip mall charmless. Most people do take out. We were ignored for what was clearly a VIP table of Lebanese men. Good food, not the best I've had. Chicken and rice were a little dry but nicely spiced. Salad was nothing special and a little overly vinegared. But oh the baklava...the best ever. True Lebanese style (not too sweet, pistachio and cashew). That comes from the bakery next door. (Note that alcohol is NOT available.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ya Hala - Good & some very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Our family went to Ya Hala for dinner. It's a small, casual restaurant; pretty clean with nice framed art but nothing to write home about. Service was polite but also friendly. Hummus was very tasty with just right amount of oil. Ground beef kabob was also good. Lamb kabob was cooked right but a bit dry. Rice was tasty. But best part of our meal was the dessert. I forgot the Lebanese name for it but its' translation (according to the very friendly owner) is 'Lady's Arm'. It had a creamy milky center prepared with bread and rosemary surrounded by a fried exterior which was topped by a delicious syrup and crumbled pistachios. Yum! They also deliver within 3 miles. May try delivery next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anniepoo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Blink but don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This tiny 'gem' is in the back right next to Amphora Bakery which everyone knows, please go past the bakery and try Ya Hala - the food is made to order and is just wonderful - the hummus is creamy and luscious, the Chicken Shawarma was wonderful, the garlic sauce was subtle and creamy, the beef Shawarma was equal to the chicken with a different sauce - neither the food nor the sauces overpower each other - it really is wonderful Lebanese food and the piece de resistance was the dessert, Znoud El-Sit (means woman's arm) is not to be missed but don't share it eat both pieces on your own and hope nobody is watching while you almost lick the plate - there's no pomp or circumstance just really, really good food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amarie_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ya Hala also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ya Hala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing