We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great pastys!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pure Pasty Co.

The Pure Pasty Co.
Ranked #6 of 170 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: British, African, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: What words can we use to describe ourselves! Totally, unique, authentic, British Meat Pie & Pasty Bakery. All made on site in an open kitchen. Small Batch High Quality Items made from Free Range, Organic, Hormone and Antibiotic Free ingredients. PLUS Fantastic British Grocery Store! Bangers Bacon, Cadbury, McVities, Branston and much much more. AND South African and Australian goodies too. Vegemite, Biltong, Boerwors!!!! Small seating area. Lots of food to go though. Office Lunch Deliveries - ring the shop. Parties catered with our famous mini pasties!
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great pastys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

All the pasties are tasty! But a little heavy. One day i strayed from buying pasties and got a sausage roll( a sausage rolled in filo dough) it wasn't good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Crust and Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This may not be for everyone but if you are a fan of pot pies and the like you will love the Pasties here. My husband and his family are from Michigan and their reviews are more mixed. This seems to be a reflection of traditionalists versus non when it comes to the ingredients. Pure Pasty does not use rutabaga in the traditional which makes it less authentic for some. For me however, I don't like the taste of rutabaga so it is very delightful!

Pure Pasty has some delicious and unique Pasties in addition to the traditional. My husband especially enjoyed one with lamb. They used to make a steak & cheese Pasty which was my favorite. The crust is fabulous and really makes the whole meal. My husband stops by on his way home from work and buys 5 or 6 at a time. They freeze well and are easy to reheat although I'd suggest taking the extra time and heating them in the oven for the best texture and flavor. Price is reasonable when you consider it is an entire meal all packaged together except for perhaps a vegetable of some kind. Definitely try them!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juleszee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never had a Pasty before but they are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! Will definitely be back! We are having a party next Sunday and will cater with Pure Pasty!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ViperVolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pure delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Individual meat pies available in a variety of types, from traditional to curry, makes grabbing a quick bite in Vienna an adventure. This small shop has limited seating, but if you can nab a place at the counter, you can watch the pasty-making in action. The two-fisted size pasties are plenty filling and are enjoyable with or without condiments. But add a touch of English mustard - delightful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcramba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a meat filled bread, what's not to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I mean, if I have to tell you about a pasty you clearly haven't been. There is nothing not to like. Perfect spice, perfect bake. I mean, just go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirriam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pure Pasty Co. also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Pure Pasty Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing