We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MapleWood Grill

MapleWood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
MapleWood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 169 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Maple Ave
Transit: The Vienna metro is a 5 minute cab ride to the restaurant.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Maplewood Grill. The atmosphere was very nice and the menu was full of attractive options. Pricing was reasonable. I had the Mahi-Mahi special and it was quite good. My wife wasn't as taken with the pork chop which was huge, though a little too sweet for her tastes (sauce). Another diner had the big shrimp pasta and raved about it. The lobster bisque was a little thin and though it tasted like lobster, none was evident. The dessert menu will have to wait for another time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    42
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a piano bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good food with a menu that everyone can find something good to eat. Late comers wil be able to enjoy the piano bar that starts about 9:00pm.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place might be a little dated in terms of decor for some tastes but they almost always have live music! They also serve great food and one can almost always get a table without a reservation. Friendly staff. Local musicians.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel60996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A favorite of loyal middle aged residents”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've eaten there only three times, over a year ago. The first time I ate there, the meatloaf was outstanding. The second time, I had to send the meatloaf back because it was too salty…much too salty. I can't really recall the third time. My dinner companion had a mixed seafood plate which was quite good. This appears to be the kind of place that middle-aged to older locals frequent, especially folks who prefer traditional American cooking--which doesn't include us. There is plenty of parking in front. Reservations recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
375 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Never guess from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great little restaurant! A bit cramped but not out of line with most these days. The piano is a nice touch. The food was very good, delivered to the table hot and timely. The menu is great with a range of seafood and meat dishes, but the specials every night mean it is not a place you will tire of. The wine list is very ordinary but the do have a reasonable corkage fee of $20. Good place for a couple or friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MapleWood Grill also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to MapleWood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing