We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stroll with kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowlark Botanical Garden

Meadowlark Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stroll with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its our go-to place for long walks. Our 2.5 year old especially enjoys the touch-and-smell garden and the lake with various types of fish and turtles. The elevation change is also enough to burn some calories but yet stay accessible to all age groups and stay stroller/wheel-chair friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ameetkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    58
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
299 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Meadowlarks Walks Bright Lights Dim for This Holiday Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Vienna, Virginia has a diamond in the rough that lights up at night from November 16th to January 6th - the "Meadowlarks Winter Walks of Lights" at the Meadowlark Botanical Garden. At dusk the entire botanical gardens turns into a winter wonderland with bright pathways to Christmas trees, light shows, holiday music, and a dream world that enchants children, as well as adults. My personal favorite was the Butterfly Garden. This was truly a treat, one that if you missed this year will not be back until the next holiday season. If you missed it in 2012 be sure to catch the show when it opens again in 2013. Additional photographs of this years' displays can be found on my travel blog - jdrolle.blogspot.com.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
350 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Winter walk with lights was fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This park had so many lights and the paths were well marked. The walk was a reasonable length and there was hot chocolate and s'mores for purchase outside. Inside a craft area for children had been set up. As tourists we had a lovely time. As a family it contributed to the Christmas feeling.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ResourceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Walk of Lights was Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to the walk of lights at the botanical gardens for a team event and really enjoyed it. I had heard that it can be very crowded but it was pouring rain the evening we went so was nearly empty. The rain didn't stop us and we really enjoyed the effort that must have been put into the display. My favorite section was the "stream" running through the entire attraction that included jumping fish. Certainly worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Walk of Lights!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I have lived here all my life but didn't know about this spot till I heard a radio commercial for their Winter Walk of lights. Nice way to enjoy Christmas lights without having to take a photo from a car window. Very nice display and the Visitor's Center had interesting displays. Will definitely go back now that I know it's there and take my sister who is a Master Gardener. I'm sure she'll enjoy it. Can't wait to see it in Spring!

Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meadowlark Botanical Garden also viewed

McLean, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Meadowlark Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing