We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great zoo for the entire family”
Review of Roer's Zoofari

Roer's Zoofari
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Don't expect sidewalk viewing of lions, tigers or great apes, rather friendly interactions with the feathered and furry. Visitors can purchase animal feed items, such as parakeet sticks, and watch as the colorful birds land at their fingertips; feed cups to hand feed giant watusi and gentle llamas on the safari wagon ride, or bottle feed little lambs and goats. Roer's Zoofari also holds a "Creature Feature" at 10, noon and 2pm where guests enjoy an informal animal meet and greet with a parrot, ferret, alligator, snake or other small animal.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
metro area Washington, DC
Level Contributor
184 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great zoo for the entire family”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Don't let this little zoo fool you! This zoo is clean and unique because it's user friendly.They have just about everything there except big cats that are dangerous. There are kangaroos, camels, zebras, prairie dogs, monkeys, alligators, snakes, an aviary where you can feed the budgies, pony rides, swan boatrides on the lake, a petting/feeding area, and a "hayride" where animals come up to you for food, and much more. Adults love this zoo as well, almost as well, as kids. Kids really LOVE it, and you can buy a season pass to go anytime you want. Did I mention birthday parties?? They are happening all the time. Big zoos are nice but you have to keep you distance from the animals; here you can get up close to the animals. For kids this is so much more fun!! I got to see a newborn kangaroo and newborn porcupine---adorable!! If you haven't been to the Reston Zoo--GO!!! You will love it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jeweltones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    27
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A favorite of my 2 1/2 year old”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We've been twice with our daughter and she loved it both times. For me, the best part is the petting barn with the goats and sheep (among others). My daughter's favorite part is the "hay ride" or the trolley tour through the enclosure. For an extra $4, you can get a pony ride, which we did the second time, and she loved it. Perfect size zoo for my daughter's current attention span.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArlingtonDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A zoo with an unique experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

You can easily spend the entire day at this zoo. The first time I went, many years ago, I didn't go through the entire zoo, and it's because I didn't know there is another part of this zoo.

Once you entered the zoo through the gift shop, the restroom is around the building on your left. There are animals to see on your left, in front of you and to your right. Majority of the animals is located to your right. The barn is on your right with lots of farm animals, mostly goats and pigs. They will let you pet them and feed them. Just be careful with the pigs, they will bite. Behind the barn there is a trail that will lead you to the lake where the water activities are. Around the lake, are more animals including the Kangaroos. If you are likely, like I was, you would find one on the pathway and you would be able to pet one. As you will see in the pictures that I posted, I had a very close encounter with one. He was very interested in my camera straps, and he also licked my leg. So cute. Next to the kangaroo area, there is a parakeet house. The parakeets will fly onto a stick with seeds and eat the seeds. You can purchase the seeded sticks at the gift shop. As you exit the parakeet house, in front of you and across the grassy area, is the hayride. It's not just any hayride, it actually takes you into this whole completely different area with animals roaming free. They will come up to you for food, while you remain on the truck. So save some food or buy some more before you go on this ride. It's an experience to have.

For the price of $13 per adult, it is definitely worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful zoo for the whole family.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This little petting zoo was a wonderful surprise for me and my family. The highlight was the "safari" where people sit in a pulled tractor and drive around an open area with roaming animals. The animals know food is coming and run to the tractor. The animals in the safari including camels, ostriches, watusi cows, deer, pot-bellied pigs and so many other animals. I did not expect to have so much fun, but I really did. There are containers of purell by most of the attractions so you can keep relatively clean.

I think the kids enjoyed feeding the baby goats and pigs the most. It was a great way to spend a couple of hours as a family.

I highly recommend this attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tbralliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family fun.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to visit with the kids. My children enjoyed feeding all the animals. They had a great time riding on the wagon and seeing the big animals. The price is a little high but it was fun. The entry is very small and can get very crowded but the park outside is spacious. Overall I would recommend visiting with your kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roer's Zoofari also viewed

 

Been to Roer's Zoofari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing