We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish Bowl”

Maple Ave Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 179 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Globally influenced American cuisine in the heart of Vienna, VA.
The Plains, Virginia
2 reviews
“Fish Bowl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Large picture windows on three sides of the dining room with a total of nine tables overlooking Maple Ave sidewalk, a car wash and Merchants Tiers. When the tables get occupied, the noise level is objectionable high. Prompt, courteous pleasant service. Tour-de-force of culinary excellence; order the bronzini or seared scallops but not the Moroccan chicken. Not a good value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    76
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Apps!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Finally got around to checking out this small place right in the heart of Vienna, on Maple Ave (duh). Very small eating area but we were lucky and got a table without waiting and without a reservation. If you don't have the latter expect the former. Service was fast and friendly. The menu is pretty eclectic. With our group of four we hit the "small plate" menu pretty hard - basically like a tapas menu. Shrimp with grits and seared scallops with basil ice cream (yes, you heard me right) were both awesome. Also had the risotto, mussels and other shrimp dish, all very good. Would have liked more bread to sop up the mussels' broth.

Only had one main plate, the seared seabass which was excellent, but better off not sharing, which our group of four did with everything. Also, good beer selection.

Overall a great experience. Somewhat pricey, but not at all out of line for this type of fare.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hubby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Sangria Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great place for small bites and sangria.
Fried Cauliflower is amazing!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBarbK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality ingredients, great flavor combinations, very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Loved the food. First time there. Stayed with the small plates - watermellon gazpacho soup, grits and shrimp, lemongrass chicken on a bed of brussel sprout, lime tart with a home made marshmallow top, chocolate filled dumplings and vanilla ice cream, red and white sangria. My wife and I left wondering how the owner and chiefs came up with the wonderfully complex, satisfying combinations of favors. Go there for the food. Go there if you want food that combines subtle favors from several countries. Go there if you have a need for creativity and a food adventure. Do not go there for the decorations on the walls or haute decor. Prices were not high (try tapas in DC for expensive dining) and considering portion size were a very good value. Will go back soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billsfoodfinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Lean
Level Contributor
196 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Popular Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Reservations are an absolute must as this cozy little restaurant in the heart of Vienna has less than a dozen small tables. The decor is minimalist, but the food is truly spectacular. My companion and I both had a citrus salad, which was perfect, our entrees were artfully plated and delicious. The red house-made sangria was excellent as were both our desserts - a bread pudding topped with ice cream and funnel cake - see pictures. Definitely worth many return visits.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiva36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Ave Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Maple Ave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing