We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Show”

Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only national park dedicated to the performing arts, with spaces for indoor and outdoor performances.
Burtonsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Another Great Show”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Tonight was Josh Groban and he put on a fantastic show. It doesn't matter who the performer is, this is a great venue to see your favorite entertainer. You can sit on the lawn or sit in the Pit, all seats are good. The Wolf Trap orchestra is always great and the lights, sound and scenery are good. We've seen many shows here and are always happy at the end. Traffic getting out moves slow but patience will get you through.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    117
    20
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This one gets a big fat "Average."”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The acoustics of the arena aren't bad, but seating is a major problem. Either choose the flat covered seating or the sloped lawn. That being said, I feel sorry for the poor suckers on the lawn - they don't even have video screens to show you the teeny tiny people you're watching perform down there.

As for concession, I expect it to be overpriced. I didn't expect it to give me a hard, cold old pretzel or hard, cold chicken tenders and potato wedges that left me wondering if I'd have the good fortune of being the victim of botulism.

For similar prices, there are other venues in the area with great concerts - and many of the same great sets - without the botched seating and gross food. I say pass.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Couple_Connoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
477 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful Summer Theater”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We saw Jackson Browne last summer. It was a beautiful open air theater. The parking was free and easy to navigate because of the guides. The parking lot and area around the the pavilion was great for tailgating. They allow lawn ticket holders to bring coolers and blankets with their own beverages. They also sell their own snacks and drinks. The bathrooms are clean and they have plenty so that there wasn't a huge line after the show. The sound is great, even in the back and the stadium seating allows for a great view. The only downside of the place is the traffic I get stuck in on the way back to Annapolis.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The BEST PART of summer in DC!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ever since my childhood, I can remember going out to Wolf Trap in the summers, and I still do MANY years later. Wolf trap is a phenomenal venue. Parking is free and abundant. If you get there early and have time to kill, follow the path behind Ovations and the picnic grounds and enjoy the well-manicured nature trail...and be sure to check out the kids' performance area in the woods.

The NSO does a lot of great shows out here, including Buggs Bunny at the Symphony, which I had the pleasure of seeing several years ago and enjoyed again this summer with its new cartoons. Tickets are reasonable...the Filene Center seats a lot of people, and there honestly isn't a single bad seat in the house. We like the sides of the rear orchestra. The downside to the front orchestra (prime orchestra) is there are no aisles...so the rows can be up to 90 seats across without any way to get out. The rear orchestra doesn't have this problem.

Take a trip out to Vienna...you'll be glad you did...enjoy the show!
AM13

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arlingtonman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Incredible Place”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went there last week for the Gordon Lightfoot concert. Really an amazing venue. Ushers were courteous and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts also viewed

 
Vienna, Fairfax County
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing