We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Outdoor Theatre”

Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only national park dedicated to the performing arts, with spaces for indoor and outdoor performances.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Theatre”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Easily accessible with free parking. You can picnic or eat there before the concert/show. I find the acoustics uneven and at times difficult to bring clarity.

Helpful?
Thank Stargatebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    120
    21
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WDC
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“pack a lunch”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

while the entertainment often is top notch, access/parking/departure is an ongoing nightmare.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank rockwell121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love Wolf Trap”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is one of my favorite venues. I have seen numerous shows here including The Temptations/Four Topps, Anita Baker, Earth Wind & Fire, The Beach Boys, the NSO playing Wizard of Oz tunes, and even an opera! Yes, I am a concert junkie.

I live in DC and it's worth the 30-40 minute trek out to the burbs to get to this place. You don't feel like you're in an urban metropolis at all - you feel like you're surrounded by trees and nature.

Wolf Trap is particularly great for date night or to bring out of town guests. My cousin still talks about this place and I brought her several years ago. Packing a gourmet picnic and sitting on the lawn under the stars is a great option. We've been doing the pavillion seats more and more lately and we just grab dinner somewhere in Tyson's beforehand.

We tried the food there once and it's excellent, but a bit pricey for what you get.

Tips:
- If you are seeing a daytime show during the summer, spring for the pavillion tickets and skip the lawn seats. You will be glad not to be overheating with the lawn crowd. If you must do the lawn, wear a hat w/ a brim.
- This venue is intimate. The sound at Anita Baker's performance was too loud so we said something and they fixed it. You don't get that kind of response at most venues.

Enjoy your show!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very pleasant performance”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Although we have lived in the Washington DC region for nearly 15 years, our August visit was our first visit to Wolf Trap Filene Center.

This was one of the most relaxing and pleasant performances we've ever enjoyed. We were fortunate that the weather was not hot and that there was a great breeze flowing through the amphitheater. I can’t imagine a better way to experience a National Symphony Orchestra performance.

The venue was not as large as I had anticipated. It is intimate, rustic and charming. The park is immaculately clean and well maintained. We had box seat tickets which provided a fine view of the concert; however, the amphitheater is sized so conservatively that you would have a great view from any seat in the house.

Before the concert, we had fantastic cocktails and dinner at the Ovations pavilion which is located about 500 yards from the amphitheater. If you choose lawn seating, you can pack a picnic and drinks to consumed during the show.

I recommend that you arrive a little early and park close to the exit. The traffic out of the park is dense and police are positioned to keep the flow moving onto the highway. In all honesty, you have much less difficulty exiting this venue than exiting a stadium or arena. Next time we may park at the metro station and just take the metro shuttle to the park.

I am so glad that we finally got off our duffs and visited this park. This is definitely on the annual to-do list and will be one place that we’ll take out of town guests.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MariMckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An open air concert venue with inside and outside seating”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Wolf Trap Farm Park is a unique in and outdoor concert venue with a nearby restaurant called Ovations. The buffet is about $29 each
( drinks extra) and is one minute from your concert seat. Seats begin about $45 depending on the performers. Last week we saw Emmy Lou Harris and we have seen Renee Fleming, Tony Bennett and his daughter Antonia, and Celtic Woman. If the weather is co-operating the site is fabulous and sometimes you can here Crickets or Cicadas( not necessarily in key with the bands). If you are in Northern Virginia in season this is a great stop.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ydna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts also viewed

 
Vienna, Fairfax County
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing