We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vienna
Hull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just fine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night after busting Wolf Trap for the Opera, travelling down from Annapolis (MD).

The hotel was easy to find and is on a main road where there are lots of available places to eat and visit.

Check in was very quick and the staff on the desk were friendly and helpful, however there was a horrific smell in the room which meant that walking in there was almost unbearable!

Upon requesting a first floor room, we were told that they'd sold out for the evening...even though it was clear they weren't! So I'd recommend putting in a specific room request early if you're pre-booking!

The room was nice, light and we had a lot of space...a lot more than many cheap hotels I've been to! I have nothing to complain about the room really! My bed was very comfortable, the room was light and we had a TV!

There is wifi at the hotel which is quite fast, when checking in, be sure to remind the clerk at the desk for the code!

We arrived at breakfast half an hour before it finished the next day to discover that the only thing left was an apple, basket of Philadelphia samples and a Muffin...so I'd recommend going to the McDonalds next door or the Diner across the road...

For dinner in the evening we are at the Diner Amphora across the road which is very old fashioned but with very nice food! I'd recommend it if you're looking for somewhere quick and nearby with standard prices...if not there's a McDonalds and I think a Taco Bell and Wendy's right nearby!

If you're very sensitive to smoke, this is definitely not the best hotel! Everywhere smelt of smoke, even in our non-smoking room and whatever time of day, every-time we left our room somebody was smoking nearby, so just a pre-warning!

All in all, for one night it was okay! However, I would not recommend for longer than a 2 night stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkergirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    21
    12
    26
See reviews for
18
29
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After a long day of traveling highways and byways of West Virginia, Maryland and Virginia we just wanted a place to sleep and grab a shower before we headed in to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival that wasn't to far from a Metro station that fit our budget and this fit the bill. Though once we saw the place I commented to my girlfriend "check for body outline tape on the floor"

Being a disabled traveler that uses a wheelchair however it was not the greatest of choices. My chair was barely able to fit between the bed and as for the shower I ended up doing a sponge bath because I was not able to use it.

As for the continental breakfast...I recommend the McDonald's down the street.

Next time we go Washington we plan on spending the extra money for a nicer place.

Room Tip: Not a good choice for disabled travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

You get what you pay for. Yes, it's cheap and if you are willing to deal with getting locked out of your room, no water pressure, ripped up carpets, and a hard as wood bed, you're golden. I came back to my room late one evening after helping a friend move and my key didn't work. Went to the front desk, told them the issue, they did something on their system, and didn't offer any explanation. The complementary breakfast consisted of orange juice that wasn't chilled and pre packaged little debbie type items. I tried a doughnut but ended up throwing it out after one bite. The rooms appear to have been constructed in the 1970's without any upgrades. Carpeting was ripped up in the room. Crude repairs to the walls. The shower (which had absolutely no pressure and would go from luke warm to scalding hot without warning) had strange rust spots all over the tub. I felt worse waking up after sleeping in the bed than I did from helping a friend move their entire home. The TV's are probably the newest piece in the rooms and those appear to be late 1990's.
Moral of the story is you are totally going to get what you pay for. I would never stay here again even if the room was free. Having a quality rest in a comfortable bed with a nice shower in the morning is worth the extra expense.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrianC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Was awakened at 8 am by loud banging on door. Ignored, and then received a phone call from the front desk demanding my name. I was told I had "never checked in." After explaining that I did sign their little piece of paper, the banging at the door was back. After my phone conversation was over the banging at the door returned. I opened the door to a woman who simply said "front desk say check rooms, no person here" After explaining my dissatisfaction with the current situation, the only apology I was given was "sorry, ok? sorry"

Would not recommend to anyone, very poor experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Yikes. Shirtless people wandering around drinking alcohol in the middle of the day. Smelly rooms with marks on the walls. Hair in the bathroom and beds, and stains on the sheets. Staff that were indifferent at best. Not a good experience at all, even for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja22006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

There is no question that the rates at the Wolf Trap Hotel are highly competitive. This, however should not excuse the overall very poor condition of the premises and the unfriendly and disengaged attitude by the front-desk staff. The complimentary breakfast buffet, while "nice-to-have" does little to improve the value for money. Even minor management changes would greatly add to making the stay more welcoming.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. Rooms on the ground floor are most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muralto60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had a really nice time at the Wolf Trap Hotel. Not to mention I absolutely loved the cheap prices. The other cool part is I didn't have my rental car so, it was great knowing that is was only 1/2 mile from the nearest bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vienna
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner
Extended Stay America - Washingt...
#12 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#2 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
#10 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Property: Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel
Address: 430 Maple Ave W, Vienna, VA 22180-4221
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a clean and reliable place to stay in Vienna Virginia, the charming Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel is the perfect choice. Located close to the Washington DC Metro with easy access to the Wolf Trap Performing Arts Center and Tyson's Corner Center shopping mall, you'll enjoy free continental breakfast and complimentary wireless internet all at an affordable price. With friendly service and free parking, you won't find a better deal in the heart of Vienna Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Wolftrap Hotel Vienna
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel VA - Fairfax County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing