We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Marriott. But nice enough”
Review of Hills Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hills Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a Marriott. But nice enough”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

By no means is the Hills Inn a Marriott, but decent clean room, nice bed which they are proud about "new beds in 2012", and mini golf. Cant go wrong with free mini golf right? I would say give the Hills Inn a chance. Not bad. Not bad at all. BTW the ice machine does has a coin slide, but I dont think its activated. the button worked and produced ice for free...multiple times.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wishiwereacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    94
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
71
104
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were so happy with our rooms in this motel. Very well kept outside area. Updated and clean rooms. The beds were fantastic. The pool area looked very clean. We had lots of fun at the miniature golf course. Wally was very helpful with everything. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very clean, old fashioned motel, with very nice and accomodating owner. Pool was clean which my daughter loved. Only gripe is that the ice machine needed money. Breakfast was cold cereal or mini doughnuts or bagels. But the price was reasonable. Slightly off the main drag so it was quiet. Very close to the Mammoth Site.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a very clean and well kept place. The manger is a Veteran and cares about his hotel. The rooms where VERY clean and ever little detail was covered. The A/C was a little loud, but almost all hotels have loud A/C's. Overall a great place!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarriors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Small, old-fashioned style motel, but has everything you need at a fraction of the price of the chains in town. Room was quite small, but spotless and comfortable, with a fridge. Breakfast was a bit limited compared to other, more expensive, places, but still more than enough to start the day. Very friendly owner told me they get a lot of repeat business and I can see why. If I’m ever back in Hot Springs, this is where I’ll stay. Nice spot beside the river, and an easy walk to town and the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AScotsmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here one night on the way to Rushmore. The owner and his wife are both friendly and very helpful in telling us where to go, where to eat, etc. The free mini-golf course is a plus, as is the brook running in front of the inn. Yes, the TV's are not flat screen, but you don't stay here for the in-room entertainment, either. It's a neat town with lots to do close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I spent one night in June 2014 at this motel. The owner was friendly and cheerfully answered my questions about the area. The motel dates from what looks like the 1950's - 1960's, but don't let that discourage you. The motel was updated a couple of years ago with new paint, beds, a/c etc. The rooms, while small, were spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable.
Parking is right in front of your door. There is a basic breakfast consisting of cereal, bagels, toast, doughnuts...

In doing research for lodging, this was the only place I saw that had NO terrible ratings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GradyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
24.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.1 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#8 of 9 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hills Inn

Property: Hills Inn
Address: 640 South Sixth Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747-2253
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing