We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. One of the best Motels we have stayed in.”
Review of Hills Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hills Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Donna & Wally are a very hardworking couple who are owners/operators of this extremely comfortable and clean motel. The rooms were spotless, spotlessly clean bedding, very comfortable bed. Great bathroom with everything in working order. TV, fridge and microwave. Wally was full of information, the best eating places, the scenic routes and what to see, etc. Ask him anything and he will oblige. Lovely, enclosed, and safe swimming pool. Mini golf next door and next door to that a beautiful walk along the riverside, just the place to go after busy days visiting the fantastic Parks and Museums nearby. Wally is always there on hand to help and give advice if needed. We recommend this motel for the price, comfort and the lovely couple Wally and Donna, not to be missed. We will return. Lovely.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 286 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the ideal place for our group to base out of for our motorcycle trip. Good rooms, great location, the owners/,manager (Wally) was fantastic. He told us of the best places to eat, the most scenic routes,and gave us excellent service- including towels to clean our bikes each night. For the price, we could not have found a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We selected ones so that our bikes were out of the elements. Every room included a parking spot rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A great bargain. Wally and Donna are are great owner/operators and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Wally was very friendly, helpful and informative. We loved the mini-golf next door. I'd recommend this motel to anyone visiting the BlackHills.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family loved the stay. Awsome Mini-golf, sparkling pool, and great location. Plenty of attactions in the area and great places to eat! Clean and spacious room and very friendly staff. Very warm welcome and very accomodating. Great Value!

Thanks Wally!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice surprise for the price, new beds, still a bit hard. Owners are very sweet. Pool wasn't open,it would have been nice to go for a quick dip. The breakfast was your average continental. Convenient location in town, was able to walk to dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quadchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The cluster of motels around the "Mount Rushmore Service Area," as I like to call it, is daunting at best. They're all around the same price, within $10-20, and most of them are less than an hour away. Which is fine, because the scenery on the way more than makes up for it. This little motel, run by Wally and his wife, is a GREAT little motel, and the whole family agreed that we would definitely be return visitors.

First of all, it IS a budget hotel. Anyone looking for that should not be expecting room service or a four-star restaurant or a fitness center to rival Gold's Gym. What it does have is clean rooms with a microwave and fridge at no extra charge, tv, table with an extra power strip for charging various gizmos (very important with 4 cell phones, a couple laptops, a Kindle, and a partridge in a pear tree), a large closet/storage area and a shower with nice water pressure and plenty of hot water. What it does NOT have, however, is a hairdryer in the room. This was a very minor gripe, though, and if you find yourself without one, the only place in town you can get one is at Ace Hardware. Trust me.

Secondly, breakfast is complimentary, but minimal. Bagels, some donuts, a couple kinds of cereal. Fine for us, since we like to hit the grocery store a couple blocks away and stock up for the week, but if you're looking for a hot breakfast, head downtown to the Fall River Bakery. The place is usually packed with tourists AND locals, but you will NOT be disappointed. It's worth it, however, to nibble on a bagel and just talk to Wally for a few minutes in the morning. Not only is he helpful with anywhere you need/want to go, he's also hilarious, and you can pass much more time than you meant to just chatting.

There is a pool that looks really nice, but unfortunately it had just been closed for the season shortly before we arrived. There is a tiny mini-golf course next door, also owned by Wally, that is an amusing way to pass a couple hours - half price for guests.

If, like us, you are mainly looking for a place to fall into bed at night and leave your stuff so you don't have to schlep it around with you, this is a GREAT place. It's not luxury accommodations, but who wants to spend an entire vacation to the Black Hills in a motel room anyway? We came in with moderate expectations of cleanliness and comfort and were more than pleasantly surprised.

A tip about the Black Hills in general - it will take you at least an hour or so more than the time you allot to get to any particular place. Sometimes more. The roads through Wind Cave Park and Custer State Park are winding and slow, and you will be tempted time and again to slow or stop and photograph the scenery/abundant wildlife. Or the people in front of you will be. Be prepared. Needles highway is ESPECIALLY slow and the cars can back up at the tunnel points during the busy tourist season. Keep that in mind when planning daily activities, because chances are you will arrive a couple hours late to wherever you planned to be and have to cut the next place short out of necessity.

Mount Rushmore - 40-ish miles: This WILL take about an hour and a half.
Crazy Horse - see M.R.
Needles Highway - plan at LEAST an hour to drive the 16 miles.
Lead/Deadwood - 90-ish miles: Plan 3 hours just to drive there.
Devil's Tower, WY - 150-is miles: Do plan 3-4 hours just to get there, depending on your route.
Spearfish Canyon - loop around North on your return from Devil's Tower to see this. it is WELL worth it, especially in the fall.

Room Tip: Two queen rooms are small but adequate. The east-facing building is the most up-to-date and has a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find such clean & comfortable accommodations for such a low price. Beds are new and super-comfortable. The A/C worked well, fridge and micro were handy, cable tv good. Wi-fi a little spotty in my room. Pool was refreshing (and clean) and washer/dryer was convenient. Wally was a great host and Hot Springs was a really cute town to visit.

Room Tip: Ask in advance about wi-fi coverage; you don't have to climb stairs if you stay on ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cowgird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#6 of 9 in Hot Springs
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
23.4 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hills Inn

Address: 640 S 6th St, Hot Springs, SD 57747-2253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing